Weather Forecast


Newspaper association appoints new officer, two directors

William T. (Todd) Morgan, editor of the Walsh County Record, Grafton, has been appointed to the position of Third Vice President of the North Dakota Newspaper Association. Morgan replaces Jill Friesz, publisher and editor of the Grant County News, Elgin, and Carson Press. Friesz became Second Vice President of the association following the resignation of John Irby, who retired from his position as editor of The Bismarck Tribune.

 The NDNA Board of Directors also appointed two new directors, Zach Ahrens, advertising director of the Grand Forks Herald, and reporter Teri Finneman of Forum Communications who operates from an office in Bismarck. Ahrens and Finneman filled vacancies on the board created by the elevation of Morgan to Third Vice President and the resignation of Nikki Laine Zinke, former publisher of the Valley City Times-Record.

    Morgan is a Grafton native and graduate of Grafton High School. He attended North Dakota State University and South Dakota State University before joining the staff of the Walsh County Record at Grafton 17 years ago. He has been editor of the Record for the past 12 years.

Ahrens came to the Grand Forks Herald in 2010 after serving in advertising capacities at small market weekly and daily newspapers in the Midwest. He holds a Bachelor's degree in communications.

Finneman has worked at North Dakota weekly newspapers, the daily Dickinson Press and The Forum of Fargo-Moorhead. Last year she completed a Master's degree at the University of Missouri after an internship with ABC News in Washington, D.C.

Wanda Olaf, advertising director at the Williston Herald, is the NDNA president. Kathleen Leinen, managing editor of the Daily News of Wahpeton-Breckenridge is First Vice President. Other current directors are Jill Denning Gackle, general manager of BHG Inc., Garrison, publisher of 11 weekly newspapers; and Tom Monilaws, general manager of the Traill County Tribune at Mayville, Hillsboro Banner and Cass County Reporter at Casselton.