Weather Forecast


4-H members receive honors at district contest in Fargo

Back Row: (L to R) - Kaleen Krueger, Adin Enockson, Sarah Dodge, Sheyenne Freitag, Ashley Stoppleworth. Second Row: Zoe Alvarez, Arianna Alvarez, Bryce Langerud, Talia Dalzell, Naomi Danielson. Front Row: Mikayla Dodge, Harshita Gaba, Anna Stoppleworth

The 2010 District 4-H Communication Arts Contest was held June 8, at Centennial Elementary School in Fargo, with approximately 40 youth from Cass, Richland, and Traill counties participating. The event included youth giving presentations in the categories of Demonstrations, Illustrated Talk, Public Speaking, Interpretive Reading, Dramatic Presentation, Short Takes and Commercials.

Sponsors for the North Dakota 4-H Communication Arts Program are the N.D. 4-H Foundation, N.D. Beef Commission, Cenex Harvest States Foundation, and N.D. Rural Electric Cooperatives: Cavalier Rural Electric Co-op, Inc., KEM Electric Co-op, Inc., Northern Plains Electric Co-op, Slope Electric, Verendrye Electric Co-op, Inc., Cass County Electric Co-op, Inc. Service Foundation.

Maxine J. Nordick, Extension Agent/4-H Youth for Cass County, coordinated the contest stating, "This event helps young people to build self-confidence, poise and good communication skills. It's encouraging to see so many young members participating so enthusiastically."

Judges for the event were: Greg Webster, Hillsboro; Karen Speten, Christine; Rachelle Vettern, leadership and volunteer specialist with the NDSU Center for 4-H Youth Development; and Rita Ussatis, NDSU/Cass County Extension Agent. Assisting with the event were: Ken Nichols, NDSU/Traill County Extension Agent; Deb Evenson, administrative assistant, NDSU/Richland County Extension; Therese and Nick Weber, ND 4-H Ambassadors from Richland County; Sara Clemens, NDSU/Cass County intern; and Jennifer Manstrom, volunteer from Richland County.

Youth receiving top honors included:

Preteen Interpretive Reading/Serious: first place, Abby Mueller, Cummings, Traill County; honorable mention, Anna Lemm, Hillsboro, Traill County.

Preteen Interpretive Reading/Humorous: first place, Catherine Manstrom, Wyndmere, Richland County; honorable mention, Anne Manstrom, Wyndmere, Richland County.

Preteen Dramatic Presentation: Honorable Mention, Bryce Langerud, Harwood, Cass County.

Preteen Public Speaking: first place, Arianna Alvarez, Kindred, Cass County; honorable mention, Ashley Stoppleworth, Horace, Cass County.

Preteen Illustrated Talk/Individual: first place, Dietrich Schlichtmann, Hillsboro, Traill County; Preteen Demonstration/Individual, first place, Leslie Hibl, Wahpeton, Richland County; honorable mention, Hannah Mueller, Cummings, Traill County.

Preteen Commercial/Team: first place, Tayah Beck and Katja Berge, Hillsboro, Traill County; honorable mention, Ashley Stoppleworth and Talia Dalzell, Horace, Cass County.

Teen Interpretive Reading/Serious: first place, Harshita Gaba, Fargo, Cass County; honorable mention, McKenzy Diehl, Hillsboro, Traill County.

Teen Interpretive Reading/Humorous: first place, Naomi Danielson, Fargo, Cass County; honorable mention, Erin Mueller, Cummings, Traill County.

Teen Public Speaking: first place, Laura Manstrom, Wyndmere, Richland County.

Teen Commercial/Team: first place, Elli Lemm, Hillsboro and Sarah Mueller, Cummings, Traill County.

Teen Short Takes: first place, Sarah Dodge, Davenport, Cass County; honorable mention, Therese Weber, Wahpeton, Richland County.

Teen Demonstration/Individual: first place, Cassie Podliska, Lidgerwood, Richland County.

Teen Illustrated Talk/Individual: first place, Jennifer Norton, Cummings, Traill County.