Weather Forecast


Academic News (June 22, 2011)

Nathan Halda of West Fargo has been named to the President's List for the 2011 spring semester at Minnesota State Community and Technical College. To earn this scholastic achievement, a student must complete 12 or more credits for the semester with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The highest attainable average is 4.0.

As a member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system, M State serves more than 6,500 students in credit courses each term through more than 120 career and liberal arts programs at its campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena, all through eCampus.

Sarah Denne, West Fargo, was awarded a Don Zuehlke Scholarship, for the 2011-2012 year at Bemidji State University where she is a junior, majoring in business administration and pre-physical therapy. The scholarship was announced during the University's 92nd commencement ceremonies on May 6.

Samantha Gunning, West Fargo, has been awarded a $4,000 WolfPACT Scholarship from Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D.

Samantha is the daughter of Kurt and Vanessa Gunning. She is a graduate of West Fargo High School and will begin classes at NSU in the fall of 2011. She plans to major in elementary education and minor in special education.

Northern State University is a premier residential, liberal arts institution characterized by outstanding instruction, extraordinary community relations, and unparalleled co-curricular opportunities. For more information about NSU, visit their website at

The North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton, N.D., awarded degrees, diplomas and certificates to four hundred and sixty seven graduates this year from 17 states and three international countries, including several from West Fargo.

Those students and their area of study include: Whitney Anderson, A.S.N., Associate in Science in Nursing; Steve Bauer, A.A.S., Machinist and Toolmaker; Eric Dockter, A.A.S., Welding Technology; Brian Heinz, A.A.S., Architectural Drafting and Estimating Technology; Lucas Jensen, A.A.S., Auto Body Repair and Refinishing Technology; Kirby Keller, A.A.S., Construction Management Technology; Brianna Olstad, A.S.N., Associate in Science in Nursing; Sheila Weled, A.A.S., Health Information; and Jessica Wilkens, A.A.S., Dental Hygiene.

John Arthur Baumgartner of West Fargo, a senior in ceramic engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology in Rolla, Mo., has been named to the honor list for the 2011 Spring semester.

Honor list recipients must have carried a minimum of 12 hours and had grade point averages of 3.2 or above out of a possible 4.0

Missouri S&T is one of four campuses in the University of Missouri System and one of the nation's top technological research universities.

Several local students were among 1,362 individuals to graduate from North Dakota State University in Spring 2011.

Graduates, their major and degree received (an asterisk indicates graduating with honor) include:

Kira Kay Gilbraith, BS Business Administration, Maari Lynn Loy, MBA Business Administration, both Harwood; *Kyle Joseph Bartram, BSCE Civil Engineering, *Neceda Rae Nohrenberg, BS Political Science, Allyson Lynn Stone, BS Management Information Systems, Jason Daniel Zurn, BS Biotechnology, all Horace; Shanna L. Garcia, BS Human Development and Family Science, Lori Lee Neer, BS Health Communication, both Mapleton; Justin S. Feist, BS Microbiology, *Andrew John Honeyman, BSME Mechanical Engineering, both Reiles Acres; Megan Rose Aamot, BS Hospitality and Tourism Management, Benjamin Scott Anderson, BSCONSM Construction Management, *Kayla Anderson, BSN Nursing, Marissa Branstner, PHARMD Pharmacy, Megan L. Byzewski, BA Zoology, Elizabeth Nicole Camery, BS Health Education, Jennifer DeJong, PHD Education, James A. Dravitz, MBA Business Administration, Tracy Lee Dvorak, BS English Education, Andrea Gress, BS Zoology, Christina Marie Hawley, BS Public Relations and Advertising, *Jordan N. Idso, BSN Nursing, Michael Lee Johnson, BS Zoology, Christopher John Kadrmas, BACC Accountancy, JoDee Lee Knipfer, MEDUCAT Counseling, Curtis J. Kuntz, MBA Business Adminstration, Alyson Rose Larson, PHARMD Pharmacy, Bradley H. Lindblad, BS Business Administration, Michelle Ann Mattern, BS Human Development and Family Science, William Peter Matthaei, MBA Business Adminstration, Elizabeth Ann McCracken, BS Interior Design, Cassandra Ann McDonald, BS Apparel, Retail Merchandise and Design, *Kyleigh J. Mears, BS Interior Design, Reed Scott Montgomery, BS Business Administration, Kallista Marie Nilson, BS Public Relations and Advertising, Cody James Nirschl, BUS University Studies, Evelyne Mutezinka Niyonzima, BSN Nursing, Casey Marie Paisley, BS Hospitality and Tourism Management, Whitney Jean Rinas, BS Family and Consumer Science Education, Joshua Paul Roller, BS Marketing, Leah K. Schmidt, BS Clinical Laboratory Science, Ryan Richard Scoville, BS Art, Scott Allen Stavedahl, BS Business Administration, Bruce R. Steele, PHD Natural Resources Management, Heidi Alaina TenBroek, BSN Nursing, *David Tibbals, BS Management Communication, *Miranda Rae Utter, BSN Nursing, and Isaiah Phillip Volk, BS Accounting, all West Fargo.