Weather Forecast


Three children killed in mobile home fire in Carrington

City conducts reorganizational meeting

West Fargo City Commissioners held their reorganizational meeting Tuesday, June 26, that saw the oath of office administered to recently re-elected Commissioners Mike Thorstad and Mark Simmons; and the appointment of Commissioner Duane Hanson as vice president of the board serving as chair at meetings in the absence of Mayor Rich Mattern.

Other appointments included: James Brownlee, city administrator/auditor; Tina Gustafson, finance director/assistant auditor; Brian Neugebauer, city attorney; John Schockley and Christopher McShane, assistant city attorneys; Kevin Bucholz, city engineer; Dustin Scott, assistant city engineer; Arland Rasmussen, police chief; and Grant Larson, assistant city health officer.

Commissioners were also named to respective main portfolios: Lou Bennett, sanitation; Duane Hanson, sewer and water; Mike Thorstad, police and fire; Mark Simmon, streets; and Rich Mattern, finance and city hall.

Secondary portfolio assignments included: Mark Simmons, sanitation; Lou Bennett, sewer and water; Duane Hanson, police and fire; and Mike Thorstad, streets.

Appointments to committees went to: Mark Simmons, WF Economic Development Advisory; Mike Thorstad, library board and public health; Lou Bennett, Cass County planning and zoning and urban forestry committee; Duane Hanson, cable TV; and Rich Mattern, airport authority liaison and Greater FM Economic Development.