Weather Forecast


Exchange Club garners 8 awards at convention

The West Fargo Exchange Club won eight awards at the Dakota Territory District Convention held in Minot, N.D.

The local club won the CARE (Child Abuse Reduction Effort) Award for its fundraising support totaling $3,000 for the Rape and Abuse Crisis Center and providing West Fargo schools with Real Care Babies to help young students realize what is involved with taking care of a child and helping them make better choices.

Cole Bachmeier was named District Student (Youth) of the Year, receiving a $500 scholarship.

Ron Fuglie, district director for the Fargo area territory, was named Outstanding District Director.

The West Fargo Exchange Club’s website was named top website in the district. Website coordinator Larry Lubben received a gift certificate for setting up, updating and maintaining the site.

Lubben was also selected District Outstanding Volunteer and will compete for National All-American Volunteer at

next year’s national convention.

Sherri Larson was recognized for sponsoring three new members this past year, the second most of district members.

Four members were recognized for perfect attendance this past year at the club’s noon meetings. They are Lubben, Chuck Driscoll, Ron Fuglie and Paul Graham.

Deb Fuglie, West Fargo Exchange Club, has been named district president for the upcoming year, which runs from July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015.

The Dakota Territory consists of exchange clubs in North Dakota and South Dakota.

West Fargo’s is the largest, with 101 members, followed by Mitchell, S.D., with 81 members.