Weather Forecast


Clash near Cannon Ball brings toll for protesters, law enforcement

West Fargo students place in student congress competition

The 47th Annual NDHSAA State Student Congress was held at the North Dakota State Capitol on Nov. 5 and 6, with 185 students from 17 schools participating in the competition based on mock legislation.

The West Fargo team placed third with 163 points; while Richardton-Taylor took first with 179 points; Fargo Shanley second with 166 points, Fargo South fourth with 152 points, and Grand Forks Central fifth with 127 points.

Other placings in individual competitions included:

Senate Superior Speakers: first, John Mitzel, Fargo South; second, Andrew Rebel, Richardton-Taylor; third, Phoebe Strom, Fargo North; fourth, Matthew Budke, Fargo South; fifth, Jennifer Vetter, Fargo Shanley; sixth (tie), Kristin Emmons, Grand Forks Central; and Kayla Hawley, West Fargo; eighth, Andrew Leizens, Grand Forks Central.

House IA Superior Speakers: first, Teagan Lende, Fargo Shanley; second, Danielle Meyer, West Fargo; third, Kristin Johnson, Richardton-Taylor; fourth, Garrett Zastoupil, Fargo South; fifth, Jasmine Eppelsheimer, Grand Forks Central; sixth, Thomas Beneke, Fargo South; seventh (tie), Ashley Barrios, Mandan and Andrea Richmond, Fargo Shanley.

House IB Superior Speakers: first, Jon Lipp, Fargo Shanley; second, Savanah Walseth, Fargo North; third, Carrie Sandstrom Century; fourth, Bryce Heustis, Devils Lake; fifth, Evan Bloom, Richardton-Taylor; sixth, Nick Strom, West Fargo; seventh (tie), Jake Steding, Fargo Shanley, and Cristina Lawrence, Fargo Shanley.

House IC Superior Speakers: first, Catherine Cho, Fargo South; second, Anjali Lall, Fargo South; third, Lindsay Tyrrell, Richardton-Taylor; fourth, Londyn Lorenz, West Fargo; fifth, Jace Riggin, Devils Lake; sixth (tie), Rachel Iverson, Century, Jacy Thibert, Grand Forks Central; eighth, Stephane Wiese, Richardton-Taylor.

House ID Superior Speakers: first, Ty Bloom, Richardton-Taylor; second, Kaitlin Ford, Fargo South; third, Lindsey Kuntz, Richardton-Taylor; fourth, Ethan Paulson, West Fargo; fifth, Madeline Hyde, Fargo South; sixth, James Maertens, Fargo Shanley; seventh, Benaiah Simburger, Mandan; eighth, Jared Gibbon, West Fargo.

House IIA Superior Speakers: first, Chase Johnson, Fargo Shanley, second, Kate Gunderson, West Fargo; third, Brianna Steiner, Richardton-Taylor; fourth, Abhishek Vaidyas, Fargo South; fifth, Sierra Canerot, Richardton-Taylor; sixth, Sarah Beam, Fargo South; seventh, Franklin Henning, Fargo Shanley; eighth, Nathan Collins, Carrington.

House IIB Superior Speakers: first, Connor Wright, West Fargo; second, Tirzah Wethern, Fargo Shanley; third, Samantha Praus, Grand Forks Central; fourth, Jared Zent, Richardton-Taylor; fifth (tie), Josie Perhus, Fargo Shanley, Sebastian Carcoana, West Fargo; seventh, Karan Saravana, Fargo South; eighth, Emily Meester, Fargo South.

House IIC Superior Speakers: first, Abbey Immer, West Fargo; second, Theresa Schlangen, West Fargo; third, Paige Knain-Blanchard, Fargo Shanley; fourth, Anthony Garnett, Grand Forks Central; fifth, Jessica Pflugrath, Fargo South; sixth, Hannah Rummel, Richardton-Taylor; seventh, Jordan Wold, Carrington; eighth (tie), Gautam Satishchandran, Fargo South, and Matthew Donahue, Fargo Shanley .

House IID Superior Speakers: first, McKenzie Schwark, West Fargo; second, Sami Steiner, Richardton-Taylor; third, Kelsie Tyrrell, Richardton-Taylor; fourth, Katelyn Osland, Fargo Shanley; fifth, Chris Fixen, Devils Lake; sixth, Erin Hardy, Fargo South; seventh, Dontae Bell, Fargo South; eighth, ShaeLynn Purvis, Mandan.