Weather Forecast


Police: Shots fired at law officers, protesters pepper sprayed as protest site grows tense

West Fargo VFW recognizes winners, volunteers

Pictured with Post Commander Jamie Olson and Ladies Auxiliary President Betsy Olson are Lance Wilson, Dejana Culum, Nick Dosch, Mandi Rakoczy and Christopher Briones. Submitted photo 1 / 2
Pictured with Post Commander Jamie Olson is Rick Cameron, F-M Ambulance and Ken Zetocha, Volunteer Firefighter. Submitted photo2 / 2

Several West Fargo youth and volunteers were recently honored at the annual VFW Awards and Volunteer Banquet, held at West Fargo VFW Post 7564.

Commander Jamie Olson and Ladies Auxiliary President Betsy Olson led the event. Mayor Rich Mattern praised the volunteers for their service to the community.

The VFW Ladies Auxiliary Patriot Art Contest winners were Morees Yousif, first place; Mandi Rakoczy, second place; and Dejana Culum, third place. Yousif now advances to the department level for judging in June, with the State winner advancing to the national VFW contest in July.

Lance Wilson took first in the VFW Voice of Democracy contest.

The VFW Patriots Pen winner was Christopher Briones, with second place going to Nick Dosch.

The winning essay written by Briones earned him $500 from the North Dakota VFW. His essay advanced to the National VFW competition, and he was awarded an additional $500.

Rick Cameron of the F-M Ambulance Service was recognized as the EMT of the Year, and Ken Zetocha was named Fireman of the Year.