Weather Forecast


VFW, Ladies Auxiliary receive awards at state convention

Members of the VFW Post and Auxiliary attending and receiving awards at the state convention included, from left to right: Dale Ronning, Bill Tuff, Mary Ann Hudson, Detective Sergeant Greg Warren, Lulu Tostenson, Scott Helmer, Joy Mikyska, District 10 Commander Rich Gehrke, Nic Jalbert and Jim Hapala. Submitted photo

The West Fargo VFW and Ladies Auxiliary recently were the recipient of several awards at the 92nd Annual VFW State Convention in Grand Forks they attended last week.

Among the Post and Auxiliary awards received at a special luncheon were citations for

Community Service, Voice of Democracy, Teacher Awards, Buddy Poppy, Patriot's Pen,

Military Assistance Programs and 100 Percent Membership.

Individual awards were presented to Michael Wiersma, All State Post Commander; Bill

Tuff, All State Post Quartermaster; Mary Ann Hudson, National VFW Citation for Buddy

Poppy program; Dale Ronning, National Citation for Buddy Poppy program; Jim Hapala,

National Citation for Education and Citizenship; Bill Tuff, National Citation for the

Safety Program and for Membership Recruitment; Joy Mikyska and Nicolas Jalbert

recognition for their service work; and Jim Hapala was presented the State Commander's

Special Recognition Trophy.

Receiving State Safety Awards nominated by the West Fargo VFW were Scott Helmer of FM Ambulance Service and Detective Sergeant Greg Warren of the West Fargo Police Department.

Dale Ronning was elected Department Quartermaster and appointed Department

Adjutant for ND VFW; Bill Tuff was elected as Department Judge Advocate; and Patti Tuff

was elected Department Chaplain for the N.D. Ladies Auxiliary. They will assume their

duties for the new VFW year of 2013 - 2014.