Weather Forecast


Commission reorganizes after election

The newly re-elected Mayor Rich Mattern and council members Duane Hanson and Mark Wentz were sworn into office June 24 after victories in the June 10 election.

The commissioners join Mark Simmons and Mike Thorstad on the city board of commissioners, which is headed by Mattern. Mattern is allowed to cast a vote.

The recent meeting to reorganize the City Commission is held every two years, after each election.

As part of the city’s organization, each commissioner and the mayor is assigned a portfolio, which is an area of the city the commissioner or mayor is expected to be well-versed on. Board members also serve on a number of committees in the community.

Simmons will also serve on the West Fargo Economic Development Advisory board.

Hanson will now serve on the library board and cable TV board.

Wentz will serve on the Cass County Planning and Zoning Committee and Urban Forestry Committee.

Mattern will serve as the Airport Authority liaison and as a member of the Greater F-M Economic Development Corp.

Thorstad will now serve on the Cass Public Health Committee.

Commissioners’ primary portfolios are:

  • Sanitation: Mark Wentz
  • Sewer and water: Duane Hanson
  • Police and fire: Mike Thorstad
  • Streets: Mark Simmons
  • Finance and City Hall: Mattern

Secondary Portfolios:

  • Sanitation: Simmons
  • Sewer and water: Wentz
  • Police and fire: Hanson
  • Streets: Thorstad

Thorstad was also elected vice president of the board at the meeting, and Municipal Judge Susan Bailey was sworn into office once again.

City Auditor Jim Brownlee and Assessor Wanda Wilcox were reappointed by the City Commission, which also reappointed the Ohnstad Twichell law firm as the city attorney and Moore Engineering staff as the official city engineer and city building administrator.