Weather Forecast


Hanson files for re-election

The biggest news from the West Fargo School Board came Tuesday morning, about 12 hours after the panel finished its regular meeting at South Elementary Monday night.

After much consideration, Board president Duane Hanson, the second-most tenured member of the group, has filed his documents to run for re-election to the Board this summer.

Four positions for the West Fargo School Board will be open in Junes County Primary election, slated for June 13. Two incumbents, Karen Nitzkorski and Angela Korsmo, had already indicated their intentions to run.

Hanson joined the Board in 1999, serving a three-year term and is now completing his first four-year term. He joined a Board that was in a flux, losing longtime members like DeWitt Batterberry and the late Jim Kirchen. He became president of the Board after Jeff Shirley, who replaced Mike Lavelle in 2002, was forced off of the Board when he moved to Mapleton, out of the West Fargo School District.

Korsmo, the Boards current vice-president and longest tenured member, indicated right away in February that she would file papers to run again. Nitzkorski, who was named to the Board after Kirchens death, also filed quickly.

But Hanson, who has been at the center of the controversial early retirement topic for teachers, said he would think about running again, and consulted with his family. He turned in his forms Tuesday at the start of the business day.

The fourth seat, currently held by Tom Gentzkow, is a four-year position as well, and Gentzkow said he is also discussing his political future with his family. Gentzkow now has a four-year term and a two-year term (filling Shirleys spot for the last two years) behind him.

Four years is a long commitment, he told the Board at a recent meeting.

The deadline for filing for the County Primary is Friday, April 14. Business Manager Mark Lemer said no outside parties, other than the three incumbents, have filed for the School Board openings.