Weather Forecast


Hannahs named acting library director

Sandra Hannahs has been named acting director for the West Fargo Public Library until a new director can be hired.

The West Fargo Library Board approved this action last Thursday evening after formal acceptance of the resignation of Miriam Arves, who had served as Director for 31 years. Arves decided to step down from her position, saying it was time to focus on a new direction in her life.

The Library Board also agreed to form a search committee to hire a new director, with present board member Lou Bennett and outgoing member David Saxowsky named to head up the group to which additional members may be added.

Hannahs was hired as assistant director in July of last year when the Library staff was transitioning into its newly expanded facility at the Lodoen Community Center at 109 3rd St. E.

Originally from Fargo, Hannahs graduated from North High School and went on to earn a BS Degree in Spanish and French from Moorhead State University. She also has two Masters Degrees, one in Information and Library Management from the University of Northumbria in Newcastle, England, and the second in Translation from the Monterey (Calif.) Institute of International Studies.

Hannahs said that "Arves' departure signals the end of a long and exciting chapter for the library," but that she looks forward to playing a role in further developing the library and its services to the community.

Hannahs added that a special open house recognition event is being planned to honor Arves for her years of service at the library, at a date to be announced, most likely in mid-July.

The Board also favored two new Library Board members to replace the expiring terms of Saxowsky and Julius Helm, who will be going off the Board this month after serving two consecutive three-year terms, the maximum allowed.

The names of Leighan Monson, a sixth grade teacher at Cheney Middle School, and David Kruse, owner of Sheyenne Hearing Service, were forwarded to the West Fargo City Commission for approval as new library board members, an action expected to be affirmed at the Commission's July 2 meeting.