Weather Forecast


Candidates set for Primary City Election

The field of candidates has been set for the June 10 City Election, with all those seeking terms filing petitions by the Friday, April 11, deadline at respective City offices. All candidates are vying for four-year terms.

Incumbents Mark Simmons and Brenda Warren and newcomer Mike Thorstad are seeking two open West Fargo City Commission positions.

Incumbent Kathy Scully will be running against newcomers Chris Heise and Todd Rheault for two open Park Board seats. Longtime Park Board member Gary Fugere decided not to seek re-election.

In Mapleton, incumbent Mayor Jeff Shirley and newcomer Mark Anderson are vying for the position. In the City Council race, incumbents Eric Hillman and Larry Dell are joined by Rayburn Herbel in the bid for two open positions; while incumbent Rita Schmit and newcomer Jon Warner are running unopposed for the two open Park Board seats.

In Harwood, incumbent Bill Rohrich is running unopposed for mayor. Newcomers Garry Roth, Dennis Domier and Mark Riley are seeking the two open City Council seats. Incumbents Richard Sundberg and Pat Lemieux decided not to seek additional terms. In the Park Board race with two open spots, Pete Meyer is the only candidate who filed. Incumbents Vicki Lemieux and DeAnna Gadberry's didn't seek re-election.

In Horace, mayoral candidates include Shane Walock, Grant Allex and Donald Goerger. Bob Hoffman, Sharon Hochhalter and Chad Pollert are seeking the two City Council positions, while Todd Pillen, Susan Sundlie and April Rohrer are running for the three open Park Board seats.

The mayor and two City Council posts are open in Reiles Acres, with information on candidate filings unavailable at press time.

The West Fargo School Board has three four-year positions open on the board with a number of candidates vying for the spots. Incumbents Nancy Kruse and Troy Aswege are running, challenged by newcomers Patti Stedman, Kay Kiefer, Mark Bourdon, James Osmanski and Ben Koppelman.

The question of whether or not the residents of West Fargo wish to implement a stricter smoking ban will also be up for voters on the ballot. The question will read: Should the City of West Fargo adopt ordinance number 803 prohibiting smoking in bars, all parts of truck stops, and all public places rented to private parties? A 'yes' vote will mean the ordinance is approved, a 'no' vote will mean rejection.

Another question appearing on the ballot requiring a simple 'yes' or 'no' response will be: Should the minutes of the West Fargo City Commission be published in the official newspaper of the city? According to North Dakota law, this item must be place on the ballot every four years. The West Fargo Pioneer is the current official newspaper for the City of West Fargo.