Weather Forecast


Firemen honored at spring awards banquet

The West Fargo Fire Department held their annual Spring Awards Banquet on Friday, March 28, at the West Fargo VFW with 129 active and life members, along with their spouses, attending.

Activities for the evening included a social hour, meal, entertainment, and service award presentations. Fire Chief Roy Schatschneider presented awards to a number of individuals: Kevin Hawley who served as a three year member on the Board of Directors; Joe Tintes who has completed five years serving as assistant chief and earned a life membership to the North Dakota Firefighters Association; and Mike Carriveau for 35 years of service to the Department. The Chief reviewed the accomplishments of Mike's service that included ten years as assistant chief, several years as a Captain, member of the building committee, and serving on various truck committees. Mike and his wife, Rose, were presented a plaque from the Department and a 35-year service pin from the North Dakota Firefighters Association for their efforts.

At the Department's regular meeting, held on April 1, six new members were added to their permanent roster. Joe Burchill, Logan Johnson, Joe Lomsdal, Jason Nitschke, James Sprague, and Mike Watson have spent the last year training and learning fire department tactics and procedures. They all have successfully completed their one year probation and will now go on into advanced classes, including North Dakota Firefighter I & II certification.