Weather Forecast


One killed in head-on crash in north Fargo

Moore Engineering, Inc. previews new facility at special open house

West Fargo City Commissioners approved two resolutions of necessity and two resolutions of offers to purchase for property owned by David Houkom and Goldie Houkom that will serve as permanent right of ways for the installation of sewer and water lines on property in the Osgood Reserve development.

The city had found it necessary to complete the construction of Water and Sewer Improvement District No. 1206 and needed to acquire the permanent easements for the construction, maintenance and running of water, sewer and storm lines, and other miscellaneous utility lines.

A value was given to the property, with the costs to be assessed as part of the improvement district.

The commission also awarded the contract for Sewer and Water Improvement District No. 1206 for the reserve at Osgood First Addition, a 40 acre parcel north of 40th Avenue next to the Sheyenne River, to Dakota Underground Company, Fargo, with a low bid of $1,635,529.70.

The board voted 4-0 to approve the resolutions and award the contract. Mayor Rich Mattern was absent from the meeting, with Vice Chairman Lou Bennett presiding in his absence. Commissioner Mike Thorstad sat for his first time on the board after being elected to the position June 10.

Bennett was appointed vice chair of the commission at the group's reorganizationalmeeting held June 24, that also resulted in the oath of office being administered to recently elected Commissioners Mark Simmons and Mike Thorstad, the announcement of other appointments, and the assignment of city commissioner portfolios.

Primary and secondary portfolios respectfully assigned to commissioners included: Mike Thorstad, sanitation and streets; Bryan Schulz, police and fire and sewer and water; Lou Bennett, sewer and water and streets; Mark Simmons, streets and sewer and water; and Rich Mattern, finance.

Commissioners were also assigned various committee appointments - Mark Simmons, West Fargo Economic Development Advisory Committee; Lou Bennett, library board, Cass County planning and zoning, and urban forestry; Mike Thorstad, cable TV, public health, and sump pump variance committee; Bryan Schulz, West Fargo Area Chamber of Commerce and Greater Fargo Moorhead Economic Development Corporation; and Rich Mattern, airport authority liason.

Appointments for city employees included: City Administrator James Brownlee; Finance Director Sharon Schacher; Assessor Wanda Wilcox; Business Development Director Dorinda Anderson; Planning Director Larry Weil; City Attorney Brian Neugebauer; Assistant City Attorney John Shockley; City Engineer Kevin Bucholz; Assistant City Engineer Brock Storrusten; Police Chief Arland Rasmussen; Public Works Director Barry Johnson; Assistant City Health Officer Grant Larson; and Building Administrator Mark Housh.

In other action Monday night, the commission:

-approved second and final reading of Ordinance No. 829 relating to imposition of penalties that were changed to conform with state law;

-awarded the contract for Sewer and Water Improvement District No. 1201 in Shadow Wood Second Addition, north of the Ninth Street Academy, to Master Construction Co., Inc., Fargo, with a low bid of $2,175,986.75;

-awarded the contract for Street Improvement District No. 2200, from Third Avenue East to Third Street to Fourth Street in front of the Lodoen Community Center and the Early Childhood Center, to Master Construction Co., Inc., Fargo, with a low bid of $183,877.25;

-approved a conditional liquor license for Work Zone Bar contingent on a background check, after an issue about ownership, which has now been narrowed down to one individual. The conditional license allows the business to operate until everything is resolved.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the West Fargo City Commission will take place at 5:30 p.m., Monday, July 7, in the Commission Chambers at West Fargo City Hall. All meetings are open to the public.