Weather Forecast


Two students from West Fargo receive journalism awards

Megan McDougall1 / 2
Sam Forsey2 / 2

West Fargo High School seniors Meagan McDougall and Sam Forsey have been awarded the Al Neuharth Free Spirit Scholarship award in journalism. McDougall serves as co-editor-in-chief of the West Fargo High School student newspaper, The Packer. Forsey is entertainment editor of the publication, under the direction of Jeremy Murphy, publications advisor.

To qualify for the award, McDougall and Forsey submitted samples of their writing, along with two essays explaining why they want to pursue a career in journalism, and listing their qualities as a free spirit. As winners of the prestigious award, the pair will receive $1,000 scholarships and be eligible to attend the annual journalism conference held in Washington, D.C. in March. Each year, one female and one male are picked from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia for a total of 102 journalism students receiving the award.

This is the third consecutive year that West Fargo students have won the award. Jessica Ballou won last year, and Joe Connor won in 2007. Kristen Daum was named the female recipient for the award in 2004.