Weather Forecast


Volk recipient of Civic Excellence award

Jeff Volk shakes Mayor Rich Mattern's hand after receiving the 2009 Civic Excellence Award during the West Fargo Area Chamber of Commerce 51st Annual Awards Breakfast at the Best Western Doublewood Inn in Fargo Thursday, May 14. Carrie Snyder/The Forum1 / 3
Thomas Clark shakes hands with Kathy Lewin after receiving the 2009 West Fargo Volunteer Firefighter of the Year award. Carrie Snyder/The Forum2 / 3
Detective Derek Cruff was presented the 2009 West Fargo Police Department Employee of the Year award. Carrie Snyder/The Forum3 / 3

The West Fargo Area Chamber of Commerce has reached the 451 member milestone and is setting its limits even higher, according to outgoing chamber chair Don Gronke, who commended everyone who helped play a part in that accomplishment at the Chambers 51st Annual Awards Breakfast held May 14, at the Doublewood Inn, Fargo.

He also thanked departing Chamber Executive Director Chris Barton for her five year contribution to the group saying "it saddens me that Chris is leaving. She has taken the chamber to a whole new level and I want to wish her the best of luck in her new position," a reference to her new sales director role at the Hilton Garden Inn.

Moore Engineering, Inc. President and CEO Jeff Volk was honored as the 2009 Civic Excellence winner.

Charleswood President Bruce Clapham, last years recipient, and Bob Brodshaug, made the presentation on behalf of the chamber.

"Jeff was chosen for his continuous dedication to solving water and flood problems," Clapham stated, noting his key involvement in realizing the Sheyenne Diversion for West Fargo and Horace and the Maple River Dam, and for his efforts with the southside flood control plan for Fargo and Moorhead. "Without his continued leadership in seeing projects happen, the growth and development of West Fargo would not be what it is today."

Brodshaug, who worked closely with Volk on the Sheyenne-Horace Diversion, said "I can tell you, Jeff Volk is an exceptional person. I served with him on the board for the Sheyenne Diversion. Jeff stood out as a man with the ability to solve problems."

"It truly is an honor to receive an award like this, but is doesn't involve me alone," Volk said, thanking his wife, Jeanie, his children, parents, and other respective family members in attendance, as well as his co-workers and clients that he was involved with in his associations throughout the years. Prefacing his work with earlier water issues, he specifically mentioned the importance of such individuals as Brodshaug, Jim McLaughlin, Fred Selberg, Carol Harbeke Lewis, and Dick Twichell, who he described as his "father figure. When we would go out he would have a calming effect and he was instrumental in bringing the pieces together."

An employee since 1977, straight out of college, Volk added "Moore Engineering has been a great company to be associated with. All of this was truly a group effort. I want to say thank you. I appreciate everything everyone has done for me."

Thomas Clark was honored as the 2009 West Fargo Volunteer Firefighter of the Year and Derek Cruff, the West Fargo Police Department Employee of the Year.

Clark joined the fire department in May of 2002, currently holding the position of engineer. He and his wife, Rhonda, have two daughters and live in West Fargo.

Cruff has been with the police department for seven years, and in investigations for three years. He and his wife, Ladine, have two children.

Several Business Awards were also presented to West Fargo Chamber members in a variety of categories, including: Out on a Limb- Innovative Business - large, Midcontinent Communications, small, The UPS Store.; One for All Commitment to Community or Chamber - large, Northern Improvement, small, Payroll Express Inc.; and Over the Top - Customer Service - large, Alerus Financial, small, Dave's West Fargo Tire and Service.

Moore Engineering, Inc., who is starting their 50th year September 1, was the winner of the beautification award for the realization of their new headquarters at 925 10th Ave. E.

Gronke was honored as the outgoing chair and Kathy Lewin as the incoming chairperson. Current board of directors are: Lewin, Lisa Amann, chair elect, Gronke, past chair, Bernie Dardis, treasurer, Paul Orvik, Dorinda Anderson, Carol Stillwell, Bryan Schulz, Russ Hanson and Rachelle Martin.

The program concluded with Lewin presenting a 'going away' gift to Barton. "Chris has led our chamber to a new horizon," she told Barton wishing her well in her new endeavors. "As the sun sets and rises you will light up those around you with your smile, energy and enthusiasm."