Weather Forecast


Candidates set for June 8 Primary Election

The full slate of candidates for the June 8 Primary Election is now set with the filing deadline expiring at 4 p.m., Friday, April 9 for those wishing to be a part of the race.

A number of four-year positions are open in West Fargo including the term of mayor, two city commission seats, three park board, and the municipal judge.

Candidates filing for respective positions include: Mayor: Rich Mattern, incumbent; Mike Thorstad present city commissioner; and Peter Karl; City Commission: Lou Bennett, incumbent, Richard Lewis, Duane Hanson and Duane Breitling; Park Board: Sharon Odegaard, Denise Johnson, Ken Zetocha, all incumbents; and Jeff McCracken; Municipal Judge: Susan Bailey, incumbent.

In Harwood, there are two open city council positions and four park board seats, with no incumbents opting to run again. In the Park Board race, only one candidate has filed, with the other three slots open to write-in candidates. Candidates making a bid include: City Council: Dana Peterson, Shirley Montgomery, Jeremiah Frisinger and Ross Puhr; and Park Board: Carol Grieve.

In Horace, two city council and two park board seats are open: Candidates seeking the posts are: City Council: Terry Heiden and Craig Hakanson, both incumbents, and David Fenelon; Park Board: Julie Dahlin and James Pearson, both incumbents.

In Reiles Acres there are two city council positions open. Candidates are: JoAnn Czerwinski, incumbent; Joe Sweeney, Josh Amundson, Jared Purdy and Aaron Olson.

In Mapleton, there are two open city council and three park board seats. Candidates include: City Council: Eric Hillman, Troy Nelson, Duane O'Marro, Jr., Kevin Hilscher, Mark Howlett, Barry Lund, and Dale Kartes; and Park Board: Denise Hanson, Jeff Hanson, and Patricia Warner, all incumbents.

There are no measures up for vote on any of the respective city ballots.