Weather Forecast


Burgum elected as North Dakota Boys State Governor

Joe Burgum from Horace has been elected the 2010 North Dakota Boys State Governor by program participants from across the state.

Burgum who will begin his senior year at Oak Grove Lutheran in Fargo this fall, is the son of Doug Burgum and Karen Stoker.

Delegates also elected several other state office-holders, including: Wyatt Bachmeier, Granville, Lieutenant Governor; Nathan Sugden, Fargo, Secretary of State; John Shaft, Grand Forks, State Auditor; TJ Draeger, Fargo, State Treasurer; Tyler Pich, Fargo, Attorney General; Logan Erickson, Columbus, Commissioner of Agriculture; and Dakota Brust, Park River, Superintendent of Public Instruction. The group chose three Public Service Commissioners - Eliot Axvig of Bismarck, Alex Benson of Fargo and Brady Sanner of Grand Forks.

The Boys State program brings together young men between their junior and senior year of high school for a weeklong learning event focused on the democratic process. Approximately 155 young men are participating in this year's program, which is held at the North Dakota State College of Science in Wahpeton.

The American Legion has conducted the North Dakota Boys State program since 1936. A sister program, North Dakota Girls State is held each year at the University of North Dakota.