Weather Forecast


Hoeven appoints 10 to various schools: Baltezore nominated to military academy

Senator John Hoeven announced that he has nominated 10 students for appointment to our nation's military academies including Christine Baltezore of West Fargo for the U.S. Air Force Academy.

Christine is the daughter of James and Joan Baltezore. She is a senior at West Fargo High School, where she is captain of the cross country team, active in basketball and track and field, is a member of the National Honor Society and plays in the school band.

Christine is also involved in the community volunteering to help coach youth basketball and helped organize a benefit for a teammate suffering from cancer.

Other appointments include: Kyson Smith, Minot, U.S. Air Force Academy; Richard Brooks, Pembina, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy; Zachary Becker, Dillon Bommersbach and Tyler Young, all Grand Forks, U.S. Military Academy at West Point; and Brian Anderson, Harvey, Taylor Chavez, Minot, and Shane DuBord and Joshua Zetocha, both Fargo, U.S. Naval Academy.

"Our nation's military academies train and educate the future leaders of our nation," said Hoeven. "It is an honor to nominate some of our state's best and brightest students for appointments to the U.S Air Force, Merchant Marine, Military and Naval Academies. These students excel academically, in their athletic endeavors and still find time to serve their communities. They will represent North Dakota well at our nation's service academies."

As part of the application process, service academies require students to be nominated by a member of Congress or the Vice President. Final appointments are determined by each academy. Students appointed to the academies receive a scholarship as well as a military appointment. Following graduation, students must serve in the military for at least five years. Individuals interested in applying for a military academy nomination for academic year 2014-2015 should submit an application by September 2013. Additional information on service academy nominations is available through Senator Hoeven's website at