Weather Forecast


District 22 Republicans hold annual dinner

The District 22 Republicans held their annual dinner last week at the Fargo Holiday with the event featuring keynote speaker Lt. Governor Drew Wrigley and a special recognition of past district chairpersons, Cleo and Ralph Thompson. Also attending was the District 22 legislative team of Senator Gary Lee and Representatives Wes Belter and Pete Silbernagel.

Wrigley recounted the legacy that District 22 holds in the political history of North Dakota, including its five governors'. He also covered the status of several of the key actions that the legislator's need to address before wrapping up the current session; and the current state of affairs related to agriculture, energy, education, taxation and water issues.

Wrigley affirmed in his remarks that, "Agriculture is still North Dakota's number one industry and will be after the oil is gone." He challenged the district's newcomers to continue to build on the rich tradition and foundation that is in place in District 22.

Current District 22 Chairman Jake Werner recognized the service of past chairpersons Cleo and Ralph Thompson. Cleo recently stepped down as chairman after 19 years, receiving several gifts of thanks from members, as well as a letter of appreciation was from former District 22 legislator Senator Gary Nelson. Ralph Thompson served as chair prior to Cleo for 12 years.

District 22, which has had Republican state legislative representation since 1984, encompasses much of central rural Cass County, Horace, Casselton, Page, Mapleton and part of West Fargo.