Weather Forecast


Exchange club hosts civic excellence awards

The West Fargo Exchange Club will be hosting their annual West Fargo Civic Excellence Awards luncheon that will recognize and thank community leaders on Tuesday, May 14 at the Speedway Event Center in West Fargo. Lieutenant Duane Sall will be honored as the West Fargo Police Department 2013 Employee of the Year, Ken Zetocha as The West Fargo Fire Department 2013 Volunteer Firefighter of the Year, and Louise Dardis as the 2013 West Fargo Civic Excellence Award recipient.

The West Fargo Exchange Club has already had a busy Spring including hosting their 15th annual Fun Night April 12. In spite of the lingering snow piles that cramped parking a bit, a record amount of funds were raised enabling the club to continue with its mission of helping youth and preventing child abuse. Last year the club donated over $42,000 to local groups and organizations.

Other recent donations have included: $3,000 to the Rape and Abuse Crisis Center Kids Program, $1,000 to the Red River Advocacy Center, and $1,000 to the Post Prom-Post Grad Committee.

In April the Club held elections for the officers for 2013-2014 -- Chuck Driscoll, president; Tim Keller, president-elect; and Louie Lauritsen, vice president.

The public is welcome and invited to attend the luncheon on May 14. Tickets can be purchased for $8. Contact Shawn Preabt by Friday, May 10, at 701-799-7636 or shawn.preabt to assure a reservation.

Organized in January 1973, The West Fargo Exchange Club is linked to a national organization that emphas-izes Americanism, youth, and community service while offering an opportunity for fellowship and informative programs on the community level. More information is available at