Weather Forecast


'We are treating it as a criminal investigation,' Fargo police say about missing pregnant woman

Kindergarteners honored for respect, responsibility

Osgood principal Darren Sheldon and Kindergarten students pose with their awards during a presentation at the school on Friday. Daniel Determan

On Friday morning, 44 students at the Osgood Kindergarten Center were given the Principal Award, recognizing them for practicing respect, responsibility and safety during the first half of the school year.

“We have been reading our code of conduct every Monday,” Principal Darren Sheldon said. “Instead of simply reading it and hoping it means something to them, we decided to give awards to those students who exemplify that code of conduct.”

Osgood teachers selected one to two students from their classrooms who have best exemplified the traits outlined in the school’s code of conduct

Parents of the award-winning students were invited to attend Friday’s short presentation in the children’s honor in the Osgood gymnasium.

“Because I’m a principal, I deal with a lot of negative behaviors,” Sheldon said. “It’s just nice to deal with the other side as well. We have a lot of good kids here – more than the 44. There are many more who deserve it.”

Because there are more students who deserve such recognition, Osgood will hold another awards presentation at the end of the school year, with teachers selecting new students to be awarded.

“We need to recognize positive behavior,” Sheldon said. “We tend to focus on the negatives too much.”

The award-winning students were:

Addison Bogenreif, Alvaro Jones, Alyssa Mackowick, Brenden Bryce, Brinley Donat, Brody Engelstad, Brooke Nelson, Cade Franklin, Cale Harry, Carson Peterson, Carter Evanson, Carter Thompson, Chay Quamme, Emelia LaHaise, Gabriella Hanson, Gavin Bjur, Isabelle Westman, Izzy Kalash, Jack Ohlson, Joseph Ruliffson, Kane Danielson, Kensingtyn Klingler, Kiera Becker, Kinley Steckler, Lauren Saurer, Madelyn Junior, Makena Huseby, Morgan Kinneberg Quinton Olson, Sydnee Sperle, Taylor Majkrzak, Taylor Reese, Tori Kasprick, Ty Geray, Tyler Haaland and Whitney Nystrom.

First graders honored included Liam Lemar, Lauren McDonagh, Carter Lessard, Adam Schmidt, Trisha Mehta, Brayden Johnson, Nader Said and Mackenna Johnson.