Weather Forecast


St. Aubyn applies for seat on North Dakota Board of Higher Education

A West Fargo man is one of six applicants vying for two open seats on the North Dakota Board of Higher Education.

Rod St. Aubyn of West Fargo is a former lobbyist for Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota and a former Republican member of the North Dakota House and Senate, where he served as the assistant majority leader.

Along with Aubyn, other applicants are: Kirsten Diederich, of Fargo; Curtiss Kreun, of Grand Forks; Kevin Melicher, of Fargo; Michael Ness, of Hazen; Benjamin Vig, of Sharon.

A nominating committee will meet at 1 p.m. April 1 in the North Dakota Supreme Court’s conference room in the judicial wing of the state Capitol to decide the finalists.

Gov. Jack Dalrymple will appoint two finalists to serve four-year terms on the board. Their terms of office begin July 1. The board has eight voting members, including a student member who serves for one year, and two nonvoting members who represent the faculty and staff of the North Dakota University System.