Weather Forecast


North Dakota United gives scholarships, grants

The North Dakota United Foundation announced the winners of its scholarships and grants during the Celebration of Excellence held April 11 at the Seven Seas in Mandan.

 The following individual educators, public servants and students from West Fargo received grants and scholarships designed to enhance their skills at the event:

North Dakota United Member/Dependent Scholarships Michaela Liebl, a student at West Fargo High School, received a $750 NDU Dependent Scholarship, given to a member who is pursuing post-secondary education in any field of study including vocational, associate or bachelor degree program. Michaela plans on studying business at Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D. According to one of Michaela’s teachers, she is hardworking, efficient, responsible, motivated and has integrity.

North Dakota United Education Scholarships Emma Grant received a $750 NDU Education Scholarship, given to a student member pursuing a degree in education. She attended West Fargo High School before moving on to Mayville State University, where she is majoring in elementary education with a special needs generalist and early childhood education. Emma says her one weakness is perfectionism.

The Bill Oban Special Education Scholarship Amy Matzke, a native West Fargo and a student at Minnesota State University, Moorhead received both a $1,000 Education Scholarship and the $500 Bill Oban Scholarship, given to an outstanding undergraduate student who is preparing for a career in special education. Amy’s goal is to become a teacher and a special education instructor. 

North Dakota United Ethnic Minority Award Hassan Abdi of West Fargo received the NDU Ethnic Minority Scholarship, given to a minority preparing to teach in the amount of $1,200. Hassan, who is from Kenya, plans to return to school to become a math teacher. His hope is to make a positive impact in building better relationships between African immigrants and other Americans. 

North Dakota United Member Grant  Laura Pladson of West Fargo received a NDU Member Grant in the amount of $750. The NDU Foundation Member Grant Program is designed to assist individual members or a group of members, to improve their skills through continued education research or the development of materials, techniques or activities that improve public service or public education in North Dakota. Laura is currently the teaching at Eastwood Elementary in West Fargo. The award will help Laura become certified in school counseling and begin a new career at Eastwood Elementary next year.

Joseph Westby Leadership Award Kate Bryant, a sixth-grade teacher at Cheney Middle School in West Fargo, is this year’s recipient of the Joseph Westby Leadership Award in the amount of $700. The award is given to an NDU member and advocate for public education or public service in North Dakota. Kate is pursuing her National Board Certification. As one of her colleagues stated, Kate sought National Board Certification in order to build her capacity as a reflective teacher.

The purpose of the North Dakota United Foundation is to promote educational excellence and quality public service in North Dakota. The Foundation’s goal is to aid educators, public servants, and students in achieving greater educational success.