Weather Forecast


Academic News (June 2, 2010)

Nathan Kuik and Meagan McDougall, of West Fargo, were both recently selected to be a member of Northwestern College's Honors Program, at Orange City, Iowa.

Kuik is a sophomore majoring in social work, while McDougall is a freshman majoring in public relations.

The two were among 44 freshman, sophomores and juniors selected to participate in the Honors Program. While grades are only one factor considered for membership, students admitted to the program generally have a GPA of 3.5 or higher. Students will have opportunities to take interdisciplinary seminars on topics of current interest and do honors research projects. The program also seeks to give gifted students more resources for continuing their education through graduate school visits, panel discussions and funding for graduate school applications.

The North Dakota State College of Science (NDSCS) has awarded academic scholarships to 117 students from seven states. Among the recipients are Stephanie Shagena of Horace, $500, and Kaleigh VonBank of West Fargo, $500.

The scholarships recognize and reward students for academic achievement, test scores, and participation in extracurricular and volunteer activities.

NDSCS is a two-year, comprehensive, residential college with its main campus located in Wahpeton, N.D., and a second site, referred to as the Skills and Technology Training Center, located in Fargo. NDSCS offers degrees, certificates, and diplomas in over 80 academic options in traditional career and technical studies as well as the liberal arts. The college also offers a variety of Distance Education courses. Approximately 94% of graduates are employed or pursuing additional college education.

Amanda McDonald of West Fargo has been named to the Dean's List for the 2009-2010 Winter quarter at DePaul University. To earn the commendation, students must earn a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or above on a four-point scale.

Serving over 25,000 students, DePaul University is the largest Catholic university in the country and offers programs, many of which are nationally ranked, in the liberal arts and sciences, education, commerce, law, computer technology, music and theater.

Local students were among those recognized at the Jamestown College Honors Convocation held April 22, including several from West Fargo; Giuliana Varriano, Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society, the Kennedy S. Wanner Award; Gerrit Haerter, Jon Reznecheck, Jordan Shive and Andrea Lee, the Alex Stern Family Foundation Scholarship; and Alison Edwards, the Tom & Marion Jackson Honor Scholarship, Who's Who in American College and Universities; and Tanner Farkas of Harwood, the Eugene and Ruby Wright Goude Scholarship

Established in 1883, Jamestown College is a private, liberal arts four-year college granting bachelor of arts, bachelor of science, and bachelor of science in nursing degrees as well as master's degrees in education. Jamestown College offers more than 40 areas of study. 

Amanda Kittelson, West Fargo, was among 60 candidates to receive the Master of Physician Assistant Studies (M.P.A.S.) degree in ceremonies at the University of North Dakota (UND) School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) on Saturday, May 15, held in the Alerus Center. The class was the thirty-seventh to graduate from the UND Physician Assistant (PA) Program. The graduates participated in a special hooding ceremony on Friday, May 14.

The Physician Assistant Program is located in the Department of Family and Community Medicine in the UND School of Medicine and Health Sciences.  Since its inception in 1970, the PA program has had continuous accreditation by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant.  Over the course of the program, students rotate between the classroom on the UND campus in Grand Forks and a physician's practice (preceptorship) in the student's home community. Kittelson worked with Dr. Lara Lunde of Fargo.

Physician assistants are health professionals who practice medicine collegially with, and under the supervision of, physicians, especially in primary care in rural areas of North Dakota and other rural and underserved areas within the United States.  

Dylan Grant, a mechanical engineering student from West Fargo, was named to the Dean's List at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology for the spring 2010 semester. The School of Mines is an engineering and science university in Rapid City, S.D.

More than 400 qualified for the Dean's List. To qualify, undergraduate students must earn a grade point average of 3.50 or higher for the semester, carry 12 or more credit hours and not have any "F" or "Incomplete" grades.

Emma Brooke DeJong, West Fargo, recently was named to the (Brookings) South Dakota State University dean's list for the spring 2010 semester.

To earn dean's list distinctions in SDSU's eight colleges, a student must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale.