Weather Forecast


Kersting receives honor

Loren Kersting, principal of South Elementary School in West Fargo, poses with his National Distinguished Principal Award during a recent banquet in Dickinson.

South Elementary School Principal Loren Kersting was named the 2011 National Distinguished Principal by the North Dakota Association of Elementary Principals during an awards banquet last week in Dickinson.

To celebrate this honor, Kersting received a surprise celebration Monday at the South Elementary School gymnasium.  The celebration was emceed by South Elementary teacher Josh Grover, and consisted of a student pep rally and a short program.    

Kersting, 58, has been with West Fargo Public Schools for 25 years, and has served as the principal at South Elementary since 1992. He began as a teacher at West Fargo's Eastwood Elementary School in 1975. In 1981, Kersting started working as an elementary principal for the Fargo Catholic Schools Network, and in 1986, became assistant principal for West Fargo Middle School.

NDAESP annually recognizes principals and individuals who promote quality educational leadership in North Dakota. The National Distinguished Principal award program was established in 1984 to recognize exemplary elementary school principals. This award is sponsored by the National Association of Elementary School Principals and the US Department of Education, in corporate partnership with the Variable Annuity Life Insurance Company (VALIC) of the American General Financial Group.

The goals of this awards program include inspiring the educational community to pay tribute to its outstanding leaders; increasing public awareness of the importance of a principal; and offering the opportunity for professionals to meet and share their experiences in solving problems and meeting common goals.

Additional information about this award program can be found at