Weather Forecast


Academic News (March 2, 2011)

Valley City State University has announced its honors lists for the fall semester of 2010 recognizing several West Fargo students. Andrea M. Hummel was named to the President's Roll of Honor; while Amy E. Doll, Chelsea Marie Gentzkow, Jessinda J. Remmick, and Kelsi Wollitz were named to the Dean's List.

The President's Roll of Honor recognizes students who complete 12 semester hours or more with a grade point average of 4.0. The Dean's List recognizes students who complete 12 semester hours or more with a grade point average of at least 3.5.

Valley City State University (VCSU) prepares people for life through visionary leadership and exemplary practices in teaching

Danielle Greving of West Fargo has been named to the University of St. Thomas 2010 fall semester Dean's List. Students must post grade point averages of at least 3.5 on a 4.0 scale to be named to the Dean's List.

  St. Thomas, founded in 1885, is a Catholic, independent, liberal arts university. With a coeducational student body numbering more than 10,000, it is Minnesota's largest independent college or university. Over 1,900 of the university's undergraduates were named to the fall semester Dean's List.

Dylan Grant, a mechanical engineering student from West Fargo, was named to the Dean's List at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology for the Fall 2010 semester. 

To qualify for the Dean's List, undergraduate students must earn a grade point average of 3.50 or higher for the semester, carry 12 or more credit hours and not have any "F" or "Incomplete" grades.

The School of Mines is an engineering and science university in Rapid City, S.D.

A West Fargo High School senior recently was accepted to attend Minnesota State University-Mankato.

Oksana Tyulyandina plans to major in dental hygiene when she begins classes this fall. During high school, Tyulyandina participated in activities such as orchestra, Renaissance Club, and as an athletic trainer.

MSU-Mankato is a comprehensive, doctoral university with 14,950 students and two satellite sites. It offers more than 150 undergraduate programs of study, including 16 pre-professional, seven certificate, on associate and 127 bachelor's degree programs. It also offers more than 100 graduate programs.

Oksana is the daughter of Irina and Sergey Tyulyandin, of West Fargo.

Lucas Steckler, Heather Utke, and Tiffany Utke, all of West Fargo, have been named to the Academic High Honor and Honor lists for the past fall semester at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

Among the more than 14,500 students, a total 763 students qualified for the High Honor List by achieving a 4.0 straight "A" average, while 2,295 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the Honor List. To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for a grade.

Adam Murray, son of Keith and Barb Murray, West Fargo, has been admitted to North Dakota State University "With Distinction." He will enter NDSU in the fall 2011 and plans to major in computer engineering and computer science. Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging Murray as an honor student.

In high school, Murray is active in National Honor Society, Gamers club and Technology Student Association. He also participated in a trip to Argentina with the Spanish club.

Matthew John Zurn of Horace, and Sarah Jane Denne and Alyson Suzanne Holland, both of West Fargo, have earned spots on the Dean's list from Bemidji State University at the conclusion of the 2010 Fall Semester.

Located in north central Minnesota, Bemidji State University enrolls 5000 students in over 13 programs on the graduate level.

Shandi Mack of West Fargo, has accepted membership in The National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS), and will be honored during an Induction Convocation this fall on the campus of North Dakota State University.

"NSCS is ore than just a symbol of academic achievement. Membership gives students access to a number of amazing benefits including career and networking resources, scholarships, travel, and service projects, both on campus and in the community," said Stephen E. Loflin, NSCS CEO and founder.

NSCS is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is the nation's only interdisciplinary honors organization for first-and second-year college students. Membership is by invitation only, based on grade point average and class standing. NSCS has more than 750,000 lifetime members and 270 chapters in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

For more information about the The National Society of Collegiate Scholars, contact 202-265-9000, ore visit the NSCS website at

Dr. Mark Krejci, provost and dean of the college, recently announced the names of students whose superior academic achievement during the first semester of the 2010-11 academic year placed them on the Dean's Honor List at Concordia College, Moorhead, Minn.

"These students have demonstrated, through their academic accomplishments, that they are preparing themselves to impact the affairs of the world," Krejci said. 

To qualify for this designation, students must carry a minimum of 12 semester credits and have a grade point average of at least a 3.7 on a 4.0 scale.

The following students with West Fargo ties were named to this prestigious list:

Steven Hay, junior, West Fargo High School graduate. Parents are Kenneth and Marlys Hay, of Harwood.

Jessica Roth, senior, WFHS graduate. Parents are Garry and Carol Roth, of Harwood.

Austin Keller, freshman, WFHS graduate. Parents are Rick and Sara Keller, of Horace.

Megan Nelson, sophomore, WFHS graduate. Parents are Glenn and Jan Nelson, of Horace.

Lex Lunde, senior, WFHS graduate. Parents are Tarrol and Lori Lunde, of West Fargo.

Jamie Odden, senior, WFHS graduate. Parents are Ronald and Marn Odden, of West Fargo.

Amanda Paulson, senior, WFHS graduate. Parents are John Paulson, of East Moline, Ill., and Jane Whaley, of West Fargo.

Mark Schlotterback, sophomore, Billings West HS graduate. Parents are Jane Hanson, of Woodbury, Minn., and Tom Schlotterback, of West Fargo.

Mary-Michael Vance, senior, WFHS graduate. Parent is Mary Vance, of West Fargo.