Weather Forecast


Academic News (May 18, 2011)

ad and Mary Manock, Horace, has been awarded a Valley City State University V-500 Scholarship for the 2011-2012 academic year. Derrick will graduate from West Fargo High School in June of 2011.

Valley City State University scholarships are made available as a result of the generous support of alumni and friends of the university. Students are selected to receive these scholarships on the basis of their high school GPA, ACT/SAT score and their high school class rank.

Several West Fargo students were recognized at the Jamestown College Honors Convocation held April 14 as recipients of the Alex Stern Family Foundation Scholarship. They included: Gerrit Haerter, Andrea Lee, Jon Reznecheck, and Jordan Shive.

Established in 1883, Jamestown College is a private, liberal arts four-year college granting bachelor of arts, bachelor of science, and bachelor of science in nursing degrees as well as master's degrees in education. Jamestown College offers more than 40 areas of study.  With the Jamestown College Journey to Success, emphasis is placed not only on preparing students academically in their chosen areas of study, but also on preparing students through an experience that is student-centered and integrates the liberal arts with sound professional programs.

Kacie Johnson, daughter of Patrick and Cindy Johnson, Fargo, has been admitted to North Dakota State University "With Distinction." She will enter NDSU in the fall of 2011 and plans to major in nursing. Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging Johnson as an honor student.

In high school, she is active in National Honor Society, student council and Principal Advisory Committee. She is also a North Dakota Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) representative and captain of the hockey and softball teams.

Malayia Rae Johnson has received a $1000 University Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. Johnson is the daughter of Aaron and Cynthia Johnson, West Fargo, and intends to major in elementary education.

The University Scholarship awards $1000 for the freshman year and is given to students admitted to MSUM with a composite ACT score of 24-25 and a high school rank in the top 50 percent, or a composite ACT score of 21-23 and a high school class rank in the top 10 percent.

Darian Hiemer of West Fargo has been accepted and has registered for fall semester classes at the University of Minnesota, Crookston, one of the most respected career-oriented, technology-based universities in the nation. 

Hiemer plans to major in Equine Science.  She is the daughter of Todd and Trina Hiemer.

Holly Johnson has received a $200 Upper Class Department Scholarship from Minnesota State University Moorhead. Johnson is the child of Steve and Lori Johnson, West Fargo. The Upper Class Department Scholarship is available to students pursuing their first undergraduate degree who have completed at least 12 MSUM semester credits by the end of the fall semester with a GPA of 3.25 or higher.

Gerrit Haerter, West Fargo, was among 173 graduates at Jamestown College during the school's 105th Commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 7 at the Jamestown Civic Center. Haerter earned a bachelor of science degree in information technology, management information science.