Weather Forecast


Academic News (July, 20, 2011)

Justin Schock, West Fargo, has been awarded a scholarship from the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, an engineering and science university in Rapid City, S.D., for the fall 2011 semester.

  The School of Mines offers 16 undergraduate degrees in engineering and science. All degree programs combine hands-on experience with classroom instruction to prepare students for leadership in their field.

Jenna Olson of West Fargo has been named to the President's List for the 2011 spring semester at Minnesota State Community and Technical College. To earn this scholastic achievement, a student must complete 12 or more credits for the semester with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The highest attainable average is 4.0.

As a member of Minnesota State Colleges and University systems, M State serves more than 6,500 students in credit courses each term through more than 120 career and liberal arts programs at its campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena, and through eCampus.

Two West Fargo students graduated from Bethel University in St. Paul, Minn., following the spring 2011 semester. Leonard Sikkink received a BA in Athletic Training. He is the son of Dan and Kari Sikkink from West Fargo. Aaron Storsved received a BS in Nursing. He is the son of Paul and Terry Storsved from West Fargo.

Bethel University is a leader in Christ-centered higher education with approximately 6,400 students from 47 states and 32 countries enrolled in undergraduate, graduate, seminary, and adult education programs. Based in St. Paul, Minn., with additional seminary locations on both coasts, Bethel offers rigorous bachelor's and advanced degrees in nearly 100 relevant fields. For further information on Bethel University, go to