Weather Forecast


Kiefer to run for reelection

The three open West Fargo School Board seats on the June 12 primary now have two candidates gunning for them.

Early Tuesday morning, Business Manager Mark Lemer said incumbent Kay Kiefer officially filed her paperwork with the school district to run for reelection.

The deadline to get a name on the June ballot is 4 p.m. April 13. Candidates must complete Affidavit of Candidacy and Statement of Interest forms in order to qualify.

Kiefer could not be reached for comment by the time this edition of the West Fargo Pioneer went to press.

Four-year terms are up for Kiefer, Patti Stedman and board president Ben Koppelman.

Stedman has yet to file her paperwork, but said recently that she is fairly certain she will attempt to defend her seat. Koppelman will not be running for reelection, as he instead ops to try his hand at the Republican nomination for the North Dakota House of Representatives in District 16.

Earlier in March, Jeff Shirly was the first official electoral hopeful to file his paperwork. Shirley, a former West Fargo school board member and ex-president, recently moved back to the West Fargo School District from Mapleton after an eight-year hiatus. While in Mapleton, Shirley spent time on the city council, and had a stint as the town mayor.

Kiefer was first elected to the school board in 2008. She and her husband, Russ, had three children graduate from West Fargo Public Schools. They have lived in the district for more than 13 years.

During her time in office, Kiefer saw the passing of the school district's largest building bond referendum. Construction from the $82 million voted on by residents is in full swing, with an elementary school already scheduled to open this fall. A new middle school and reconstruction of Sheyenne Middle School into West Fargo's second high school were also part of that building bond.

When she was elected, Kiefer was one of seven candidates vying for three open seats on the school board. Then-newcomers Koppelman, Kiefer and Stedman beat out incumbents Nancy Kruse and Troy Aswege, as well as fellow newcomers Mark Bourdon and James Osmanski.

During the last school board elections in 2010, there were 13 candidates vying for four open seats. Incumbents Angela Korsmo and Karen Nitzkorski kept their posts, while newcomers Dave Olson and Judy Kvaale also earned spots.

The June 12 school board election will take place in conjunction with the primary election. A bulk of the planning and execution will be completed by Cass County.