Weather Forecast


Lee, Koppelman, Wieland re-elected to legislative positions

Three incumbents Republicans were victorious in their bids for District 13 seats in the North Dakota Legislature.

Judy Lee was re-elected to the senate seat, a position she has held since 1994, winning with 67.13 percent of the vote. She defeated Democratic challenger Sylvan Loegering by a vote count of 4,054 to 1,979 (32.77 percent).

In District 13 state House races, Kim Koppelman, also serving since 1994, was re-elected with 3,643 votes or 32.85 percent.

Alon Wieland, a member of the House since 2002, recaptured his seat with 3,455 votes (31.15 percent).

House challengers were Democrats Mary C. Tintes with 2,055 votes (18.53 percent) and Michael Halverson with 1,937 votes (17.47 percent).

Commenting on the successful incumbent bid, Lee stated, "I am so pleased that the voters in District 13 chose to support us for re-election. We have worked hard to represent our district well, and we are pleased to be able to continue our work on issues important to all of us. We now are working for all citizens in District 13, whether they voted for us or not, and we encourage everyone to contact us about concerns that they have."

"Freedom, opportunity, integrity, limited government, low taxes and the promise of the future were the real winners in this election," Koppelman added. "I appreciate the continued vote of confidence the people of West Fargo have demonstrated in me. I look forward to continuing to serve them, to North Dakota's continued prosperity, and to building an even greater future."

Wieland said he wanted "to thank the voters for their support. I do believe that we have done a good job in the past years in Bismarck, and that we had the right message. We need to work to get better jobs, reduce taxes, reduce unnecessary spending, and reduce government allowing small business to grow. That is my plan. I think it is the right plan while continuing to provide for the vulnerable and the infrastructure of the state. I believe the voters have this in mind as well. I hope they will stay in touch by e-mail during the session."

All of the seats carry four-year terms. State legislators are paid $148 per day during the legislative session.