Weather Forecast


District 13 incumbents re-elected

Three incumbents Republicans were victorious in their bids for West Fargo's District 13 seats in the North Dakota Legislature in the General Election held Tuesday, Nov. 2.

Judy Lee was re-elected to the senate, a position she has held since 1994, winning with 67.13 percent of the vote. She defeated Democratic challenger Sylvan Loegering by a vote count of 4,054 to 1,979 (32.77 percent).

In District 13 state House races, Kim Koppelman, also serving since 1994, was re-elected with 3,643 votes or 32.85 percent.

Alon Wieland, a member of the House since 2002, recaptured his seat with 3,455 votes (31.15 percent).

House challengers were Democrats Mary C. Tintes with 2,055 votes (18.53 percent) and Michael Halverson with 1,937 votes (17.47 percent).

Commenting on the successful incumbent bid, Lee stated, "I am so pleased that the voters in District 13 chose to support us for re-election. We have worked hard to represent our district well, and we are pleased to be able to continue our work on issues important to all of us. We now are working for all citizens in District 13, whether they voted for us or not, and we encourage everyone to contact us about concerns that they have."

"Freedom, opportunity, integrity, limited government, low taxes and the promise of the future were the real winners in this election," Koppelman added. "I appreciate the continued vote of confidence the people of West Fargo have demonstrated in me.  I look forward to continuing to serve them, to North Dakota's continued prosperity, and to building an even greater future."

Wieland said he wanted "to thank the voters for their support. I do believe that we have done a good job in the past years in Bismarck, and that we had the right message. We need to work to get better jobs, reduce taxes, reduce unnecessary spending, and reduce government; allowing small business to grow. That is my plan. I think it is the right plan while continuing to provide for the vulnerable and the infrastructure of the state. I believe the voters have this in mind as well. I hope they will stay in touch by e-mail during the session."

Loegering said he felt privileged to have had the opportunity to run. "The tremendous support of so many wonderful people was great. In my visits with voters of District 13 I felt a strong passion for reform of workers compensation (WSI) and I will continue to work for such reform. My first step will be to meet with my former competitor and our District 13 Senator, Judy Lee. She has graciously agreed to meet with me as one of her constituents. I will continue my dialogue with the WSI Board and focus efforts on strengthening the N.D. Injured Workers Support Group so it will be a formidable force during the next legislature. I hope to gain support and input from many of the people I met during this campaign."

Tintes said she too was appreciative to all those who supported her. "I am honored to have received the support of voters in District 13 and I'm proud to have run in this campaign with two excellent candidates, Sylvan and Michael. We knew we faced a formidable challenge against long-time and well-funded incumbents. But we believe strongly in the principles our campaign stood for and we were grateful for the opportunity to talk to voters about the issues important to working families in our district. We'll continue to build on that community conversation to ensure our voices are heard by decision-makers in our state's capitol in Bismarck."

Halverson said "It was a positive experience overall, and a great deal of fun. I enjoyed the opportunity of meeting a lot of people in the community, and listening to what issues are important to them. It's an endeavor I'll never forget! I couldn't have asked for a better team than the one we assembled this election cycle.  It was an honor sharing the ticket with Sylvan and Mary!"

All of the seats are four-year terms.

Cass County voters also approved a half-cent sales tax that will be used for a proposed Red River diversion and other flood protection, by a vote of 30496 (64.05 percent) in favor and 17,117 (35.95 percent) opposing.

For complete details on other General Election results, visit the Cass County web site at