Weather Forecast


Man suspected of trying to run over Bismarck police officer found in South Dakota

WF Student Congress Team earns first place honors

Members of the West Fargo Student Congress team capturing first place honors are, left to right: Alec Rutten, Susan Glanzer, Vibhav Singh, Alex Kutcha, Abbey Immer, Connor Wright, Theresa Schlangen, McKenzie Schwark, Mark Staples, Sierra Walker, Lam Nguyen, Bryce Vogel, Londyn Lorenz, Matt Pitzer, Bailey Vertin, Jaurdyn Dobler, Jon Jahnke, and Anna Haugen.   

The North Dakota Legislature might not have been in session Nov. 4 and 5, but history was still made at the 48th annual North Dakota High School Activity Association State Student Congress held at the State Capital Building in Bismarck, N.D. The West Fargo Student Congress team captured their first state title in school history, tying for the top spot with the Fargo Shanley team at 175 points each.

A total of 154 students representing 16 schools participated in the competition based on mock legislation. Richardton-Taylor finished third at 168 points; Fargo South fourth at 164 points; and Grand Forks Central fifth with 90 points.

West Fargo students capturing individual awards were: State Champions House 1C: Londyn Lorenz - presiding officer; House 2A: Anna Haugen - 1st place; House 2B Mark Staples - presiding officer; House 2C Alec Rutten - presiding officer, Vibhav Singh - 1st place; and House 2D Bailey Vertin - 1st place.

Other placers included: House 1A Connor Wright - 8th place; House 1B Lam Nguyen - 5th place, McKenzie Schwark - 6th place; House 1C Abbey Immer - 5th place; House 1D Theresa Schlangen - 3rd place, Jonathan Jahnke - 8th place; House 2B Jaurdyn Dobler - 2nd place; and House 2D Sierra Walker - 3rd place.

Aaron Knodel serves as head coach for the group.