Weather Forecast


District 22 Republicans to endorse candidates

District 22 Republicans will endorse their candidates for the North Dakota State Legislature on Saturday, March 10. The meeting  will be held in the City Hall Auditorium, 702 1st St. N., Casselton, beginning at 10 a.m.

District officers are Cleo Thompson, chair; Randal Melvin, vice chairman; VaLois McConnell, vice chairwoman; Michael Lee, treasurer and Vonnie Pietsch, secretary.

Senator Gary A. Lee, Casselton, Representative Wes Belter, Fargo, and Representative Vonnie Pietsch, Casselton, currently serve as the District 22 state legislators.

 Representative Pietsch announced that she will not seek re-election in 2012.  She was appointed to complete her husband's term in 2003; then elected for two, four year terms, in 2004 and 2008.  She has served on the Political Subdivisions Committee and the Human Services Committee (serving as vice chair since 2007).  Her future plans include more travel, spending time with her children, grandchildren and great grandchildren.  "It has been an honor to represent my district, and I am grateful to have been given the opportunity," she said.