Weather Forecast


Candidates set for 2012 election

The slate of candidates is now set for the 2012 election with Friday, April 13, the filing deadline for contenders wishing to run for elected office in North Dakota.

In West Fargo, races to be determined in the June 12 election include city commission, park board and school board, all four-year positions.

Incumbents Mark Simmons and Mike Thorstad are running for re-election to the city commission for the two open seats, with Peter Karl the lone challenger.

In the Park Board race, incumbents Todd Rheault and Kathy Scully are seeking the two open positions, with former Park Board member Kenneth Zetocha also tossing his hat into the ring again.

Vying for the three seats open on the West Fargo School Board are incumbents Kay Kiefer and Patti Stedman and challengers Gail Flom, Shelley Treib and Jeff Shirley, who had previously served.

For County Commission, two candidates from each district who receive the most votes in the June election will be pitted against each other in the November election. Commissioners are elected by a county wide vote but must live in the district they represent. One will be elected from each district for a four-year term.

Running for District 1 (north Fargo) are: Frank Anderson, Billy Nustad, Chad Peterson, Rocky Schneider, and Steven Sprague; District 3 (south Fargo): incumbent Ken Pawluk; and District 5 (Cass County, outside of Fargo and West Fargo): Mike Bice, Hickson, Earl Erdmann, Alice, Craig Hakanson, Horace, Marty Johnson, Horace, Brandy Pyle, Casselton, Mary Scherling, Fargo, and Mark Weston, Fargo.

Local measures on the June ballot include: Fargo voters deciding whether to extend a half-cent infrastructure sales tax that expires this summer; and West Fargo and Fargo voters will vote whether their cities should publish the minutes of their meetings for the next four years in their official newspaper, which is The Forum for Fargo and The Pioneer for West Fargo.

In the North Dakota Legislative race each district has two House seats and a Senate seat. The main vote-getters in the primary from each party for each seat will advance to the general election in November where they will be elected by and for their specified districts for four-year terms.

Candidates are: District 16 Senate (south Fargo, south West Fargo) Tyler Axness (D), David Duff (R); District 16 House, Ben Hanson (D), Benjamin Koppelman (R), Mike Lindemann (D), Mark Puppe (R); District 22 Senate (Rural Cass County, including Casselton) Jessica Arneson (D), incumbent Gary A. Lee (R); District 22 House incumbent Wesley R. Belter (R), Allan Peterson (D), Peter F. Silbernagel (R); District 44 Senate (North River near the Red River) incumbent Tim Flakoll (R), Rick Olek (D); District 44 House Joshua A. Boschee, incumbent Donald Clark (R), Bob Jansen (D), incumbent Blair Thoreson (R); District 45 Senate (South Fargo near the Red River) Jim Roers( R), George Sinner (D); District 46 House incumbents Kathy Hawken (R) and Jim Kasper (R) and Lee Myxter (D).