Weather Forecast


Legislative Report District 22: Nominations begin for political candidates

March 4 is an important date for Republicans in Cass County. The nominating process begins for some statewide political candidates, the odd-numbered legislative district races and the choosing of delegates to the April 4-6 state convention in Minot occur at this time.

County legislative district caucuses will be held together in Fargo’s Carl Ben Eielson Middle School. Attendees will be able to hear from statewide candidates running for office. State offices up for election this year are the secretary of state, attorney general, agriculture commissioner, tax commissioner and two members of the Public Service Commission.

Legislative districts representing Cass County include Districts 11, 13, 16, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 27, 41, 45 and 46. Exceptions to the Fargo location are for District 25, which represents some of Southeast Cass County, which will hold their convention in Wahpeton on March 1 and districts 20 and 24 held their meeting in February. Candidates seeking nominations for North Dakota Senate and House of Representatives from the oddnumbered districts will be endorsed during the caucuses. One Senate and two House of Representative members from each district will be chosen.

An important part of any political district caucus is the choosing of delegates to the state convention. Delegates from each legislative district will be the individuals who endorse their parties’ candidates for the ballot in the primary election in June. Delegate qualifications include someone of legal voting age, a resident of the legislative district and have the intention of supporting their political party endorsed candidates.

North Dakota has a grassroots political system. The process is driven by people at the local level. March is the month to start getting involved. We hope you take the time to participate with other district members in this year’s conventions. If you don’t know your legislative district number, it can be found on the secretary of state’s website.

District 22 legislators can best be reached at;;