Weather Forecast


Koppelman receives Champion Award from N.D. Family Alliance

North Dakota State Representative Kim Koppelman (right) receives the Champion Award from Tom Freier, Executive Director of the North Dakota Family Alliance. Submitted photo

Rep. Kim Koppelman has received the Champion Award from the North Dakota Family Alliance. The Award recognized Koppelman's legislative service and his work on many issues.

The North Dakota Family Alliance advocates for family-friendly issues in the legislature and throughout the state. The organization hosted a conference for pastors, during which Koppelman received the award at a luncheon.

The award praised his service, noting that "Rep. Koppelman stands unapologetically for the values important to the family. He speaks unashamedly for what is right, what is truth. All in the state legislature, in fact, all across the state - all know that they have an advocate, a true champion who will stand for them."

Accepting the award, Koppelman noted that "It is humbling to be recognized in this way, because so many do so much for important causes and they all deserve recognition.  Preserving the values upon which America was founded is a privilege and an important responsibility.  I am deeply appreciative to be honored with the Champion Award by the North Dakota Family Alliance."

Koppelman who has represented West Fargo's District 13 in the North Dakota House of Representatives since 1994, is chairman of the Constitutional Revision and Administrative Rules Committees and has held several other leadership positions, including chairman of the Council of State Governments (CSG), which is made up of all three branches of government in all 50 states.

"Nothing is more important than standing up for the things that really matter, and nowhere is it more important to do that than right here, at home," said Koppelman, "so whatever leadership and national roles I've been privileged to play, they pale in comparison to knowing that people here in North Dakota appreciate the work we've done on their behalf."

A graduate of the Bowhay Institute for Legislative Leadership Development and of the Toll Fellows leadership program, he is the recipient of several other awards for his legislative service, including those from the North Dakota States Attorneys Association and both the Fargo-Moorhead and Bismarck-Mandan Convention and Visitors Bureaus, and was also honored with the prestigious Stueben Award for Leadership.