Weather Forecast


West Fargo cheer team wins second straight state title

The West Fargo cheer team poses with its first-place trophy after winning the NDCCA State Competition on Nov. 12 at Fargo South High School. Team members are (from left, back row): Kenzi Schiele, Raeya Mickelson, Gina Anderson, Head Coach Jenni Stewart, Gabbie Chase, Brenna Raab, Missy Harms, Taylor Hintgen, (front row) Morgan Laite, Amber Cox, Mallory Kuehl, Alicia Bates, Emily Perala, and Alex O'Meara. Kayleigh Omang was absent. Submitted photo

The West Fargo cheer team's role typically is to rouse fan support during Packer sporting events.

But on Nov. 12, they were the ones getting cheered on.

And the support paid off, as the Packers won a second-straight state championship during the North Dakota Cheer Coach Association fall competition at Fargo South High School.

West Fargo too first place in the Class A team competition, beating out runner-up Minot and the third-place Bruins.

The Packers also had a stunt group, the Flying Ninjas, which placed third overall in Class A.


Class A junior varsity

1, Jaycee Kristijanson, Grand Forks Red River.

Class B

1, Chelsie Vedvick, Glenburn-Westhope-Newberg High School.

Class A Varsity

1, Allie Thoemke, Fargo South.


Class B

1, Vedvik, Glenburn-Westhope-Newburg

Class A

1, Brittany Krone, Minot.


Class B

1, Lions Sunt Group, Bishop Ryan. 2, Aggies Stunt Group, Velva. 3, North Border Stunt Group.

Class A

1, Four Muskateers, GFRR. 2, Super Seniors, GFRR. 3, Flying Ninjas, West Fargo. 4, Ninja Turtles, Fargo South.

Team Competition

Junior Varsity

1, Grand Forks Red River.

Class B

1, Velva. 2, Bishop Ryan. 3, Grafton.

Class A

1, West Fargo. 2, Minot. 3, Fargo South. 4, Grand Forks Red River. 5(tie), Fargo North, Grand Forks Central.