Weather Forecast


Cheer teams take first at NDCCA Championship

The Varsity and Junior Varsity Cheer Teams. Back Row (Left to Right): Beth Beyer (coach), Jenni Stewart (head coach), Brooke Hansey, Maddison Heinzen, Kaylee Lindeman, Kari Kluth, Sierrah Clements, Emily Chadwick, Tanya Ridder, Dacey Lopez, Chelsea Hermanson (coach) and Sarah Beyer (coach). Middle Row: Ciera Holland, Hannah Slagle, Casidy Delgado, Eliza Strouse, Elisa Wenzel, Emily Perala, McKayla Campagna, and Jayda Flesche. Front Row Left to Right: Annie Mattern, Taylor Rosenkranz, Taylor Ostern, Mc...

For the third year in a row, the West Fargo Packers cheer team took first place in the Small Varsity Division at the Fall NDCCA State Cheerleading Championship, which was held at Bismarck-St. Mary's High School on Saturday, Nov. 17.

The Packers edged out the second-place Grand Forks Central Knights and the third-place Bismarck Demons to earn the title.

The Packers junior varsity cheer also took first at the event, beating runners-up Grand Fork-Red River for the title.

"The girls showed up to give the best performance they could," Packers cheer coach Jenni Stewart said. "Their routines were energetic and fun to watch and the crowd was very into it. Both JV and Varsity did an excellent job!"

The Varsity and Junior Varsity teams will now head to Davies High School in Fargo this weekend to participate in the 2012 Eagle Invitational Tournament.