Weather Forecast


WF football players named to All-State team

Several West Fargo seniors recently were named to the North Dakota Class 3A All-State football team.

Tyler Kennedy was named to the first-team defensive line. His 3.5 sacks tied for a team high, and he was second behind Nathan Stanczyk in tackles, with 52.

Zach Neer and Jon Pistorius were named first-team defensive backs. Though they were honored for their defensive accolades, both players were the definition of utility.

Neer had 44 tackles and two interceptions on the season, but led the Packers in catches, with 39, while accumulating 560 yards and a touchdown. Pistorius recorded a school-record nine interceptions on the season on defense, but also was an offensive staple, with 26 catches and two scores on 413 yards.

Matt Ruff earned second-team offensive honors. West Fargo's quarterback was a threat with his arm and his legs, acquiring 1,835 yards through the year and 13 passing TDs, as well as 265 yards on the ground with four rushing scores. His 2,100 total yards of offense accounted for nearly half of the Packers' yearly total.

Alex Fontaine, Tanner Fontaine, Jordan Gleason, Drew Lemke, Jake Hermanson and Brady Schwartz all earned second-team defensive honors for the Packers.