Weather Forecast


Ty's Take: Senior Athlete finalists named

With school winding down, so, too, are prep sports.

As a last hurrah, West Fargo High School and Packer Backers are sponsoring an All-Sports Awards Night on Tuesday, May 31, from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 the high school commons area.

Highlighting the event will be the announcement of the 2011 Outstanding Senior Athlete Award winners. One male and one female will be picked from a list of six finalists, including:

• Female: Carissa Becher, Britny Bucholz, Jill Gustafson, Katelyn Holland, Kacie Johnson, and Danielle Nelson.

• Male: Austin Dillard, Shane Hillen, Zach Neer, Nate Peterson, Jon Pistorius, and Braden Schmid.

The awards presentation is free and open to the public. No reservations are necessary and refreshments will be served.

West Fargo Baseball eligible for $2,500 grant

West Fargo Baseball is eligible for a $2,500 grant, and it needs your help to get it.

Mark Sahli, a member of the Positive Coaching Alliance, set up West Fargo for the program, which needs to get into the Top 7 in the Large Group Division of the Positive Sports Parent contest through Liberty Mutual. West Fargo currently is in 10th place with 152 votes. To make it into the Top 7, it will need to bypass the Rocklin (Calif.) Girls Fastpitch Softball League, which currently sits with 307.

"It takes a few minutes to take a quick quiz, and then track our results," Sahli said. "I cannot believe we could not get in the Top 7 with all of the sports parents we have."

Links for the quiz are on the West Fargo Baseball website at The contest runs through the end of May.

Tyler Shoberg is Sports Editor of the Pioneer, and can be reached at 701-451-5717 or