Weather Forecast


Stedman, Johnson named to state school board association

1 / 2
2 / 2

Members of the West Fargo and Fargo school boards have been elected to the North Dakota School Board Association board of directors.

Fargo School Board member Jim Johnson was named president of the association, and West Fargo School Board President Patti Stedman was named the Southeast director.

The two will join Vice President Mike Lautenschlager, Berthold; past President Jim Rostad, Minot; Northwest director Roger Johnson, Kenmare; Northeast director Holly Stromsodt, Finley-Sharon; and Southwest director Karl Lembke, Bismarck.

Johnson has been on the Fargo School Board since 2001 and has served on all of the board's standing committees during his years on the board. He currently serves on NDSBA's Governmental Affairs Committee, has presented at past state conventions, testified before the Legislature, and has traveled to Washington to discuss the impact of federal legislation with the North Dakota congressional delegation. In addition, he is vice president of the South East Education Cooperative board of directors and serves on the executive committee.

Stedman is originally from Carrington and was elected to the West Fargo School Board in 2008. For the past three years, she has served as school board president and previously served as vice president. She has been an active member on various committees, and for the past six years, she has served on the board of directors for the South East Education Cooperative REA. Stedman is currently serving in her third year on the North Dakota High School Activities Association board of directors.

The mission of the North Dakota School Boards Association includes stimulating interest of members in matters pertaining to public schools, keeping them informed of statewide and national trends, and advocating for excellence in public education through local school board governance.