Weather Forecast


Crago elected, local students participate in American Legion Boys State

Back row from left, Gov. Theodore Mayer (F–Denver) of Mott; St. Auditor Shea Huntington (F-Denver) of Bismarck; Attorney General Connor Crago (F-Seattle) of Horace; Lt. Gov. Simon Murphy (F-Seattle) of Grand Forks; and front row from left: Sec. of State Colton Willits (N-Denver) of Walhalla; Ag. Comm. Carson Houser (F-Denver) of McClusky; and St. Treasurer Brenden Bergquest (N-Denver) of Washburn were among this year's Boys State elected officials. Submitted photo

Delegates elected Connor Crago of Horace as attorney general to be among state office holders and other local students took part in North Dakota Boys State, sponsored by the American Legion, a gathering on North Dakota State College of Science's campus in Wahpeton June 10-15.

Participants from West Fargo, as well as their Boys State city and party included: Seth Braaten, Portland Federalist; Adam Heupel, St. Louis Nationalist; Seth Benson, Honolulu Nationalist; Tate Pearson, Denver Nationalist; Mason Emerson, Chicago Nationalist; and Gabriel Leseborg, Honolulu Federalist.

The event brings together boys between their junior and senior years in high school who are selected as delegates from schools across North Dakota to gather for activities focusing on leadership and government.

Delegates participated in hands-on learning activities including city and county government functions, disaster simulation exercises and the publication of a daily newspaper that is written and edited by delegates. Delegates also experienced speeches and debates from visiting dignitaries.

Visitors to the program included: North Dakota Democratic-NPL candidate for the United States House of Representatives Mac Schneider; North Dakota Republican candidate for the United States House of Representatives Kelly Armstrong; North Dakota Democratic-NPL Party Chairperson Kylie Overson; North Dakota Republican Party Chairperson Rick Berg; North Dakota House of Representatives Minority Leader Corey Mock; North Dakota House of Representatives Majority Leader Al Carlson; North Dakota Supreme Court Chief Justice Gerald VandeWalle; and talk show host Joel Heitkamp.