Weather Forecast


Fargo, WF teachers earn national STEM awards

Jennifer Lindsay1 / 2
Lori Kalash2 / 2

WASHINGTON — Two teachers from the Fargo-West Fargo area will receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, Sen. John Hoeven, R-N.D., announced Wednesday, June 27.

Dr. Lori Kalash, a 1st-grade teacher at Independence Elementary School in West Fargo, and Jennifer Lindsay, a 4th-grade teacher at Kennedy Elementary School in Fargo, will receive the awards for their contributions to science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) educations.

The program, which honors outstanding K-12 teachers, is administered by the National Science Foundation for the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

The 104 honorees from around the nation each receive a citation signed by the president, a $10,000 award from the NSF and an opportunity to travel to Washington D.C. for an award ceremony.