Weather Forecast


Incumbents sweep ND's statewide races

1 / 7
Wayne Stenehjem2 / 7
Ryan Rauschenberger3 / 7
Doug Goehring4 / 7
Lisa Fair McEvers5 / 7
Randy Christmann6 / 7
Casey Buchmann7 / 7

BISMARCK — North Dakotans were projected to elect six incumbents to statewide seats in Tuesday’s election, including longtime attorney general Wayne Stenehjem.

Stenehjem, a Republican, beat Democratic candidate David Thompson for his sixth term.

Stenehjem, who has served as the state’s attorney general since 2001, collected 67 percent of the vote, while Thompson received 33 percent of the vote with 392 of 424 precincts reporting, according to incomplete and unofficial results Tuesday.

The annual salary for the attorney general is $157,009; they are elected every four years.

In the tax commissioner’s race, Republican Ryan Rauschenberger was projected to beat out Democrat Kylie Oversen.

Rauschenberger, who has been tax commissioner since 2014, collected 58 percent of the vote. Oversen received 42 percent of the vote.

The tax commissioner’s office oversees six divisions dealing with tax law, revenue collection and fiscal management. The tax commissioner, who has an annual salary of $114,791, has a four-year term in North Dakota.

Incumbent Doug Goehring was projected to defeat Democratic candidate Jim Dotzenrod to be agriculture commissioner. Goehring, a Republican who has served in the role since 2009, collected 67 percent of the vote, while 33 percent of voters gave their support to Dotzenrod.

The ag commissioner receives $108,656 annually. The commissioner is elected every four years.

Lisa Fair McEvers was projected to return to the North Dakota Supreme Court after she defeated her challenger, Robert Bolinske Sr.

Fair McEvers received 66 percent of the vote, while Bolinske received 33 percent.

North Dakota Supreme Court justices receive an annual salary of $157,009 and serve 10 year terms.

There were two open seats to fill on North Dakota’s Public Service Commission this year. The commission regulates electric and gas utilities, telecommunication companies and railroads, and is responsible for siting various energy-related facilities.

Incumbent Randy Christmann was projected to win his second six year-term on the commission, beating out challenger Jeannie Brandt by a margin of 61 percent to 39 percent.

In a second race for public service commissioner, voters decided who would serve out the remaining two years of former commissioner Brian Kalk’s term. Kalk resigned in 2017.

Brian Kroshus, who was appointed to the commission by Burgum in 2017, was projected to continue his service on the board, beating out challenger Casey Buchmann with 61 percent of the vote.

A public service commissioner receives $108,656 annually.

All results are incomplete and unofficial.

Sydney Mook

Sydney Mook has been covering higher education at the Grand Forks Herald since May 2018. She previously served as the multimedia editor and cops, courts and health reporter at the Dickinson Press from January 2016 to May 2018.  She graduated from the University of South Dakota with a bachelor's degree in journalism and political science in three and half years in December 2015. While at the USD, she worked for the campus newspaper, The Volante, as well as the television news show, Coyote News. She also interned at South Dakota Public Broadcasting and spent the summer before her senior year interning in Fort Knox for the ROTC Cadet Summer Training program. In her spare time, Sydney enjoys cheering on the New York Yankees and the Kentucky Wildcats, as well as playing golf. If you've got an idea for a video be sure to give her a call!

(701) 780-1134