Eight candidates are seeking three open seats on the seven-member West Fargo School Board, including seats held by board president Patti Stedman and board members Andrea Payne and Dan Schaeffer. Payne, who was elected in 2016 to her first term, is not planning to seek reelection.

Members of the seven-person school board each serve four-year, at-large terms. The school district encompasses West Fargo, parts of Fargo, and the communities of Horace and Harwood.

All candidates were contacted by The Forum to answer the same five questions through email. They were able to respond to the question with up to 300 characters.

Click (or scroll through) the deck below to read the candidates' answers, which are in their own words and have not been edited.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

The school district will also be asking voters to decide whether to continue publishing minutes of the board meetings in the local newspaper.

State law requires ballots to be mailed or postmarked by June 8 or dropped off at the secure drop boxes found in front of or inside county courthouses across the state by 4 p.m. on June 9.