WEST FARGO — Dylan Goplen of Fargo held off a late charge from Casey Arneson of Fargo to win the IMCA Modified Dakota Cat Shootout Friday night at Red River Valley Speedway.

Goplen started on the inside pole and battled Arneson early before opening up a few car length-lead. Cautions played a role, and as the laps closed, so did Arneson on Goplen.

Arneson made a couple of series challenges late but Goplen didn't waver in picking up his first IMCA Modified win. Arneson was second, holding off Argusville, N.D., driver Dave Shipley after the two battled side-by-side for several laps. Jesse Skalicky of Fargo was fourth after starting 15th while Billy Kendall of Baxter was fifth.

Veteran Rick Schulz of Horace started sixth on the IMCA Stock Car field but quickly worked his way into the lead. Rob VanMil of Barnesville, Minn., gave persistent chase but Schulz finished first to claim the Night 2 victory of the King Pin Klash. VanMil was second, Brennan Borg of Harwood, N.D., third, Tim Church of Fargo fourth and Todd Heinrich of Fargo fifth.

The IMCA Hobby Stocks led off the night with Tim Shiek of Fargo jumping quickly into the lead from his fourth starting spot. Shiek had some pressure from Mathew Olson of Morton, Minn. Olson got beside him heading into Turn 4, but Shiek kept the momentum going on his way to the win. Olson, Adam Goff of Minot, Brad Orvedal of Fargo and Alyssa White of West Fargo rounded out the top five.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

A 25-car IMCA Sport Mod feature was up next and Reile Sailer of Fargo took the lead and led several laps. However, finding speed on the lower line was Brandon Ferris of Moorhead, and he overtook Sailer for the lead. Austin Veralrud of Barnesville, Chris VanMil of Barnesville and Ryan Restad of West Fargo joined the battle for second.

Ferris opened a decent gap on second and went on to earn his first career win, with VanMil finishing second. Third was Veralrud, fourth was Restad and fifth was Sailer.

Andrew Jochim of Harwood found speed on the lower line, as well, and made a charge through the field from his ninth starting spot. Jochim took the lead and weathered a late caution to take the win. Ryan Braseth of Ulen, Minn., edged Tye Wilke of Detroit Lakes, Minn., for second, with Brody Carlsrud of Moorhead and Kaitlyn Skalicky of Fargo rounding out the top five.

Red River Valley Speedway

IMCA Hobby Stock

Feature: 1. 31X-Tim Shiek, Fargo; 2. Mathew Olson, Morton; 3. 30-Adam Goff, Minot; 4. 3XL-Brad Orvedal, Fargo; 5. 14-Alyssa White, West Fargo

IMCA Sport Modified

Feature: 1. 5F-Brandon Ferris, Moorhead; 2. 40-Chris VanMil, Barnesville; 3. 6-Austin Veralrud, Barnesville; 4. 7R-Ryan Restad, West Fargo; 5. 76-Reile Sailer, Fargo.

IMCA Stock Car

Feature: 1. 4-Rick Schulz, Horace; 2. 40-Rob VanMil, Barnesville; 3. 52-Brennan Borg, Harwood; 4. Tim Church, Fargo; 5. Todd Heinrich, Fargo

INEX Legends

Feature: 1. 21-Andrew Jochim, Glyndon; 2. 29B-Ryan Braseth, Ulen; 3. 72-Tye Wilke, Detroit Lakes; 4. Brody Carlsrud, Moorhead; 5. Kaitlyn Skalicky, Fargo.

IMCA Modified

Feature: 1. GD-Dylan Goplen, Fargo; 2. 2A-Casey Arneson, Fargo; 3. 72-Dave Shipley, Argusville; 4. 3S-Jesse Skalicky, Fargo; 5. 9-Billy Kendall, Baxter, Minn.