WEST FARGO — Paul Colvin of Horace, N.D., and Travis Robertson of Moorhead picked up their first wins of the season Friday night at the Red River Valley Speedway in West Fargo. A 92-car field entered Friday's program.

The Tri-City Mod Tour — which consists of six events at Jamestown Speedway, Red River Valley Speedway and Dacotah Speedway in Mandan — brought in 34 IMCA Modifieds. The feature for that division was not completed at press time.

Colvin took the lead from the outset of the IMCA Sport Mod feature and checked out on the field, leading by as much as a straightaway.

The car on the move in the sport mods was the No. 6 car of Austin Veralrud of Barnesville, Minn. He started 15th on the 19-car field and worked his way into the top five, and eventually worked into second and was closing the gap on Colvin when the checkered waved. It was Colvin's first win of the year. Veralrud was second, Ryan Restad of West Fargo third, Billy Michaelsohn of Fargo was fourth and Luke Johnson of Moorhead fifth.

The IMCA Stock Car main event was action-packed. Rick Schulz of Horace, N.D., set the pace for the first several laps but was passed on a restart by Rob VanMil of Barnesville, Minn. VanMil has been one of the strongest cars locally all year and looked to be on his way to a win, but Travis Robertson of Moorhead had other ideas. Robertson moved into second and then applied heavy pressure on VanMil before taking over the lead with a few laps left.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Robertson took the win and VanMil held off a charging Tyler McDougall of Hawley, Minn., for second. Mike Anderson of Walcott, N.D., was fourth and Schulz fifth.

The INEX Legends turned into a three-car battle for the front. Tye Wilke of Detroit Lakes, Minn., passed race leader Sean Johnson but soon found Ryan Braseth of Ulen, Minn., challenging him. Wilke held off a furious challenge from Braseth for the win with Johnson right behind in third. Andrew Jochim of Glyndon, Minn., and Brody Carlsrud of Moorhead rounded out the top five.

Matthew Olson of Morton, Minn., took control of the IMCA Hobby Stock feature and cruised to the win over Tim Shiek of Moorhead. Marvin Priem of Moorhead was third, Brad Orvedal of Fargo fourth and Alyssa White of West Fargo fifth.

IMCA Mod heat winners were Darren Pfau of West Fargo, Jason Grimes of Jamestown, N.D, Rob VanMil of Barnesville, Minn., and Mike Johnson of Moorhead. The B-mains went to Austin Arneson of Fargo and Matt Aukland of Fargo. The feature was not completed at press time.

IMCA Sport Mod

Feature: 1. 13C-Paul Colvin, Horace, N.D. 2. 6-Austin Veralrud, Barnesville, Minn. 3. 7R-Ryan Restad, West Fargo. 4. 8-Billy Michaelsohn, Fargo. 5. 8J-Luke Johnson, Moorhead.

IMCA Stock Car

Feature: 1. 10R-Travis Robertson, Moorhead. 2. 40-Rob VanMil, Barnesville, Minn. 3. 1-Tyler McDougall, Hawley, Minn. 4. 18-MIke Anderson, Walcott, N.D. 5. 4-Rick Schulz, Horace, N.D.

INEX Legend

Feature: 1. 72-Tye Wilke, Detroit Lakes, Minn. 2. 29-Ryan Braseth, Ulen, Minn. 3. 58-Sean Johnson, Kindred, N.D. 4. 21-Andrew Jochim, Glyndon, Minn. 5. B1-Brody Carlsrud, Moorhead.

IMCA Hobby Stock

Feature: 1. 56-Matthew Olson, Morton, Minn. 2. 31x-Tim Shiek, Fargo. 3. B1-Marvin Priem, Moorhead. 4. 3XL-Brad Orvedal, Fargo. 5. 14-Alyssa White, West Fargo.

IMCA Modified

Feature: Not completed at presstime