Weather Forecast


Mustangs fall 3-2 in state opener

West Fargo Sheyenne's Trey Drew makes a strong serve against Bismarck Legacy's Sean Joyce Thursday afternoon at Choice Health & Fitness during the NDHSAA Boys State Team Tennis Tournament. Nick Nelson / Grand Forks Herald

A clean sweep in singles play lifted West Fargo Sheyenne to a 3-2 win over Minot in the fifth-place match at Thursday's team state tournament in Grand Forks.

Kamden Baer, Tanner Hansen and Cameron Cook all coasted to easy wins over the Magicians.

Baer beat Rory Taney 6-1, 6-2, Hansen beat Eric Wentz 6-0, 6-2 and Cook defeated Jack Wolsky 6-1, 6-4.

In the day's opening match, Paxton Miller and Jay Moylan won a three-set thriller at No. 2 doubles to lift Bismarck Legacy to a 3-2 win over the Mustangs, sending Sheyenne to the consolation end of the bracket.

The No. 2 Sheyenne doubles team of Kamden Coles and Mason Urlacher opened with a 6-3 win in the opening set, before Miller and Moylan responded with a 6-2 win in set two. The Legacy duo then clinched a Sabre win with a 7-5 victory in the third.

The Mustangs earned straight set wins at both No. 2 singles and No. 1 doubles.

Cook defeated Parker Krom 7-5, 6-3 while Baer and Kyle Toy topped Nick Mathern and Corby Svihovec 7-5, 6-1.

The Mustangs rebounded from the opening loss with a 4-1 win over Williston in the consolation opener.

Baer, Tanner Hansen and Cook all earned straight-set single wins, while Urlacher and Trey Drew overcame a first-set loss to top Rhys Enget and Jake Donner in No. 2 doubles.

Toy and Baer also took part in the doubles tournament, going 1-2 Friday.

The Mustang duo opened in perfect fashion, grabbing a 6-0, 6-0 win against Rhys Enget and Matt Richter of Williston.

The rest of the day wasn't as fruitful though, as Toy and Baer lost 6-3, 6-4 to Geoffrey Youngs and Max Olson of Fargo South, and 6-2, 6-0 to Mason Diehl and Zach Diehl of Minot.

Grand Forks Central captured the team title, its first since 1997, with a 4-1 win over Bismarck Legacy in the championship match.

Elsewhere, Michael Janes of Bismarck Legacy won the singles championship, while Youngs and Olson of Fargo South captured the doubles title.