Weather Forecast


Western awards Future Checking Scholarships

Western State Bank has announced its 2012 Future Checking Scholarship winners that are granted to full-time students based on their academic achievements, community efforts and commitment to quality education.

Students recognized as Western's 2012 Future Checking Scholarship Winners include: West Fargo High School seniors Crystal Boerger, Dane Johnston and Monique Hill-Rameriz; Valley City native Haylee Swanson, currently attending the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks; Carissa Becher, originally from West Fargo, currently attending University of Mary, Bismarck; and West Fargo native Sarah Denne, currently Bemidji State University, Bemidji, Minn.

"Western established the Future Checking Scholarship Program as a way to reward deserving individuals in our communities who are committed to continuing their education as well as their efforts outside the classroom," commented Brad Jacobson, Western State Bank President.

Each year, Western awards six $300 scholarships to area students who plan to continue their education at post-secondary institutions. To apply for the Future Checking Scholarships, students must meet the criteria of: receiving a high school diploma or GED, being admitted to a post-secondary institution and being a full-time student, 3) being registered and enrolled for the Fall 2012 semester, and having a Future Checking account with Western State Bank.